Latest designs from Saudi designer Nawal

**SALAAMS…CAN PEOPLE PLEASE STOP LEAVING ME MESSAGES LIKE I’M THIS DESIGNER? lol I AM NOT NAWAL, I DO NOT DESIGN ABAYAAT…IF YOU LIKE HER DESIGNS YOU NEED TO ***READ*** THE POST AND YOU WILL FIND THE LINK TO HER WEBSITE WHICH LISTS INFORMATION ABOUT HER SHOP IN JEDDAH…when I get comments like this…seriously, I laugh really hard then delete them, shake my head and say…wow…people!  EEGADS-thank you! **

 

In the interest of sharing some more Saudi abaya fashion, I wanted to show you all a few designs from a Saudi designer named Nawal who is based out of Jeddah.

As you will notice and as Ive mentioned before, Saudi abaya fashions tend to be much more conservative and sophisticated compared to Emirati designs which tend to be much more about dazzling cuts, crystals and basically anything very attention getting. Her designs are extremely pretty and definitely would fit in, in the more relaxed Jeddah fashion scene! Although Ive seen many similar styles of abayaat in both the upscale design abaya boutiques and in the less expensive Ladies Suq shops, being that this area is considered quite conservative, many of them would seriously raise eye brows! (although being the non-conformist that I am… I’d definetly wear them!)

Nawal is well known for her incorporation of color into her abayaat and instead of just giving some colorful accents here and there, like on the cuffs or down the front she does whole sleeves in color or hems in color. I am really a huge fan of the all black abaya with bright, colorful sleeves (a style which I’m looking to incorporate into my abaya wardrobe sometime in the near future).

Here is her website is you wish to see more or to contact her. I believe you can order via email but know that these sorts of abayaat (boutique, designer) are NOT cheap…for those of you who mistakenly believe that abayaat here are as cheap as they are in the US, think again! These kinds are several hundred dollars each, if not more. After all they are one of a kind and use extremely lush materials.

(…and if anyone leaves me a comment, asking how they can order one, thinking I’m her…then I will personally mail that person a silly stick with which they are free to knock some sense into themselves! LOL)

(picture taken from Nawals website-inside of her store in Jeddah)

I love the interior of her shop, how beautiful!

(Nawals 2010 collection)

Abayaat with knitted or “hoodie” cuffs from the elbows down is very trendy right now! Although, I think it’s more of a winter look.

(Nawals 2010 collection)

I see this style everywhere! Ive even seen it in blue crepe and black with sleeves made of a printed material. I donno, a part of me likes this look but another part of me thinks it looks like a graduation gown or a Judges cloak. hmmm?

(Nawals 2009 collection)

Big, beautiful, splashy sleeves!

(Nawals 2010 collection)

The ever popular, ever dramatic wrap around “kimono style” abaya…this style is insanely popular and new designs constantly come out! I want one…yet I wonder whether it’ll be a hassle always having to hold it closed at the side.

(Nawals 2010 collection)

(Nawals 2010 collection)

Really popular, sort of “everyday” style…satin or silk cuffs with designs…very “ohh la la”…simple yet has panache.

(Nawals 2010 collection)

Crochet sleeves…I actually have never seen this in real like although crochet sleeves is quite hot!

(Nawals purse/prayer rug collection)

What an ingenoius idea! A purse that doubles as a prayer rug! I love it! I havent seen this anywhere INRL, but…wow, love the concept.

So, what did you all think? If anyone likes these designs and are interested in any but dont want to pay several hundred dollars for one, I can probably find fairly similar-ish ones around here for a bit less. Just contact me.

10 thoughts on “Latest designs from Saudi designer Nawal

  1. I’m in love with every single one. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the knit sleeves. That is so me, conservative, yet funky. The second one is very sophisticated, I’d wear that to death, and the pink satin sleeves are gorgeous. #0020 is very professional, I could totally see wearing that to an office with some cool heels. Neither here nor there, but the model is beautiful too. I’m glad her makeup isn’t that gross overdone stuff u see on a lot of hijab models.

  2. salam umm ibrahim.
    they look gorgeous but not my type. maybe if i am living kuala lumpur, i might get one like those. :D
    and the concept of a bag – turn – prayer mat is already well known around here especially in Indonesia. Only that we have more white bags than blacks.

  3. Oh how can i order these beautiful abayas??! Lol, stupid joke, i know. I love the one with the pink satin sleeves.

  4. the knit sleeves are the best, i want that one so bad! that kimono wrap abaya also is lovely, but like you said i wonder if that would be a hassle. id love to have a prayer rug purse, thats a great idea!

  5. I love the 2nd style. Is that the regular puff sleeve style or would you say it’s more of the butterfly/batwing style since it’s connected? I love the overall look of puff sleeves but them being connected would be a hassle to walk in. I actually live in the US but do have an uncle in Jeddah. When I said I wanted him to send me an abaya similar to the puff sleeve type style he said that would be at least several hundred dollars even if it wasn’t from a specific designer boutique! Do you know if it’s possible to even get an abaya with only slightly puff sleeves for less than 400 riyals?

  6. i have just joined this site just post me regular designs of abayas ..many thanks
    just keep me posted of any updates etc

  7. really love this abayas ..where do i get this abayas in jeddah??? name of store or email or number thanks..

    • asalaamu alaikum…sister this is an extremely old blog post…I don’t know. There should be a link to her website.

      best of luck.

Comments are closed.