Latest manteau designs from Irani Persian designers

Bismillah ar-rahman ar-raheem

Okay, so…surprisingly to me…there is a whole “underground” world of indigenous manteau designers in Iran. really…I did NOT know this because each time I am over there, basically everything you see in the manteau shops are either imported from Turkey or are made in Iran but are of a very generic design.  Occasionally you would see unique manteau designs which were not “run of the mill”…but very rarely and generally just in very tiny, one-off boutiques. But, anyway…apparently there is quite a burgeoning world of manteau designers and they are using facebook to spread their collections!  They are all based in Tehran and I reckon their designs are very pricy…but still, I wanted to share some of the recent spring/summer designs from a handful of these designers…perhaps it will give those of you who sew your own garments some ideas!

Now, before I share them…a few words of warning.

1) The majority of the models are not in anything resembling proper hejab, with skinnies and hair all out and bare arms. So please, no comments about that…I know. I see this stuff with my on eyes when I’m over there, look past that and oogle the manteau designs…

2) Dont ask me how to buy one…LOL, its very difficult to get items from Iran right now.

OK, moving past that. I am noticing though that many of the current manteau designs are starting to have a more traditional “ethnic-y” feel… even some of the mainstream factory made ones are showing up with pleats and funky angular edges…so it appears the styles are trickling down to “the masses”…granted…whether these styles will become very popular…I dont know, but there indeed seems to be a move towards making the manteau more of a unique, Persian item…what with traditional-style fabrics and using cuts which echo the old, traditional clothing which was worn 2-3 hundred years ago. Some of these designs I am seriously oogling over…mash’Allah.

**Roya Designs**

(Roya collection)

(Roya collection)

(Roya collection)

**Aida Rahimi collection**

(Aida Rahimi collection)

(Aida Rahimi collection)

(Aida Rahimi collection)

(Aida Rahimi collection)

**Donya Designs**

(Donya Designs)

(Donya Designs)

(Donya Designs)

(Donya Designs)

 

I actually have MORE pictures but I felt I should split it up…so, do you like any particular designs?

8 thoughts on “Latest manteau designs from Irani Persian designers

  1. Mashallah! I love when designers try to come up with something out of the ordinary while still modest. I like the Roya Designs best, especially the first one. Maybe not something I’d wear on a daily basis but perhaps as a special occasion (old habits die hard you know lol).

  2. Asalaamu Alaikum

    I like the first 6 (some repeated I know). If they could just make them longer they would be perfect jilbabs. I love fresh designs. Old is the new new.

  3. Hi, I’m an Iranian woman and yes this is what’s in right now. But in iran every season the style changes, also the color is important too. The colors come and go. the styles come and go. and most scarfs and manteaus in iran are NOT made in Turkey. at least not where I shop. Their turkish style is very different from us Iranians. They wear the very long coats. I know b/c when I went to turkey to buy them, they only had very long and looose coats. Something that my grandma will not wear. LOL.. None of them were stylish , short or tight. only the rainocoats were to my likings, which will NEVER work over the summer. They had very nice scarfs though, but in Iran we have them too for very very cheap. so nothing special from Turkey. Even though I love Turkey! (I’m a Azari myself) lol.Anyway happy you like Iranian style, I always thought most Arabs hate iranians?? no. at least thats the feeling I got after reading some youtube comments. Sometimes the internet can be a mean place.

    • salaamu alaikum…sister most of the popular manteau in region in Iran where I go when I am over there to see relatives do sell the short Turkish “kap” styles as very popular…esp. in the upscale shops. Most of the popular scarves and manteau are imported from Turkey…i.e. aker and shalha… Atleast in Central Iran. Also in Turkey the kap style is very popular and widely available.

      lastly sister…read my blog before commenting as if you actually read my blog you would realise…1, i’m not Arab (so every Muslim who covers in hejab is Arab? )and 2…I am in Iran often as I have relatives over there and 3…I actually DO know what im talking about.

  4. LOL! When I went to Madinah and Makkah recently most of the Iranians were wearing short Turkish-made coats with Turkish branded scarves. They were wearing identical coats and scarves to most of the pilgrims in our hotel who were ALL from Turkey, they were short, and in muted colours. The only way you could tell they were Iranian and not Turkish, if you don’t know the difference between the two by facial characteristics etc, is the Iranian women tended not to cover all of their hair and had some showing at the front.

    Wow and you can really judge an entire race or nation of people by youtube comments huh? The ignorance of some just astounds me.

    • Wa salaam…hehe, YUP!!! The last I as there which was 2 years ago, most of the fancier montoo shops sold almost exclusively…very nice and very expensive manteau from Turkey! Most were the knee or 3/4th length…called “kap” in Turkey. The few full length ones I saw were more for older women and were in a very bland style…but most of the very nice looking, cute or funky manteau were from Turkey. They also had a very expensive price tag of what would be now…like $50 and up! I’m sure they are more expensive now as the cost of everything is up, up up! But you could only really find the made in Iran, simplier, Iranian style manteau in the less fancy, and def. cheaper little corner chops in the bazaar areas. The really nice shops in the nice shopping districts just had Turkish stuff, and some had heavily embellished “majlisi” abaya from UAE. I never am in Tehran but in the central part of Iran where I go…that was the trend. Ofcourse the average women who couldnt afford a 50buck or more manteau wore the cheaper Irani ones or bought material and made ones at home.

      Yes, some people do tend to over generalize or they are very anti one group or people or the other! Reminds me of when I was in Shiraz to see Persepolis and takht-e jamishid en familia and also some family friends came along and all of us were in chadors and proper hejab and these neo-types who are VERY anti-Islam were hanging out there and they actually complained to the cops about us and tried to get us kicked out. The one guy actually came up to us, slandering us and our hejab and about why we were there! Meanwhile the police just laughed and kicked THOSE people out because…duh, MOST regular Iranians are Muslim and practicing Muslims and usually their wives wear chador…so…I dunno what they hoped to accomplish, but they were crazy. There are far too many of those types around, esp online and most live in the USA or in Europe and anytime this blog pops up on some of the Irani news magazines online…I get slews of ignorant comments from them! auzhoobillah! May Allah swt guide them!

Comments are closed.