Clothing of the Lor tribe.

OLD SCHOOL HIJABI HAS MOVED TO ITS OWN DOMAIN! THIS BLOG WILL NO LONGER BE UPDATED AT THIS ADDRESS…TO SEE THE NEW BLOG AND TO INTERACT WITH OLD SCHOOL HIJABI, GO TO WWW.OLDSCHOOLHIJABI.COM

I think I am going to focus for a bit on Iranian and Persian hejab and clothing.

My last post got me thinking, I recall ought to do a series about the styles of clothing worn by the tribes and ethnic groups in Iran. I have several reasons for this, the first is many people do not realize how ethnically diverse Iran is and that the government of Iran does not restrict tribespeople, ethnic groups, minorities or other groups from wearing their traditional garments as long as they are fairly modest. secondly, from personal experience I am usually awed by how gorgeous their traditional garments are when I see them in real life and I think it’s so wonderful that Irans many ethnic groups are still keeping their traditional cultures and customs alive.

Today I will focus on the Lor tribe. The Lor people are ethnically related to Persian Iranians and Kords and speak a dialect that is similar to both languages (which are themselves related). They live predominantly in the privinces for Shahr-e Kord and Lorestan and while I’ve never been to Lorestan I have ventured into Shahr-e Kord and have gone through the areas where they live, many remain nomadic, many are settled and a fair number are semi-nomadic. If you’re ever in Iran the area around Koh-e Rang in Shahr-e Kord is almost exclusively Lor and you can go into the tribal camps.

(Very stylized version of the womens traditional outfit)

(Very stylized version of the womens traditional outfit which consists of a long tunic shirt over a very full pleated skirt, the everyday ones are obviously not nearly so fancy.)

(Lor mother and child during their annual migration)

(Lor mother and child during their annual migration)

patternphp

The women tend to stand out when they come into the cities as most of them continue to wear their traditional clothing and normally cover with a printed cotton chador and not the more typical black crepe ones.

The men also wear a very distinctive outfit. They wear extraordinarily wide, wide leg black pants that would put the Shukr Lengha jeans to shame with a very distinctive black felted wool cap and a creme and black wool vest. You can see them coming from a mile away!

bajtiar-con-sus-animales

bakhtiari-tribe-1

(Well, they are known for being quite "savoir-faire")

(Well, they are known for being quite "savoir-faire")

4 thoughts on “Clothing of the Lor tribe.

  1. I love the birqa/batula masks. LOL that is totally my style in the Gulf in my husband would let me. He thinks it is ridiculous and totally “grandma” but they are sooooooooo much more comfy than niqab.

  2. Have you been to a Lori wedding? The scarf and step dance done by the men is truly amazing. They do it in such an artistic and modest manner.

  3. NO I haven’t…Unfortunately. we don’t really know any Lor inrl. They kind of stay to their own. How did you end up going to a Lor wedding if I may ask?

  4. Some far relations..my sister’s husband’s family actually..however they are scattered in a few towns across Khuzestan and incidently I happened to be in Iran at a time when co-incidentally several of these weddings were happening..the amazing thing was that even after a relatively modern wedding..the climax was always this wonderful traditional dance..I for one simply loved it and was always waiting for more:)

Comments are closed.