Pictures from a recent Iranian fashion show

OLD SCHOOL HIJABI HAS MOVED TO ITS OWN DOMAIN! THIS BLOG WILL NO LONGER BE UPDATED AT THIS ADDRESS…TO SEE THE NEW BLOG AND TO INTERACT WITH OLD SCHOOL HIJABI, GO TO WWW.OLDSCHOOLHIJABI.COM

I’m not entirely sure of the date as I found them on a random blog and there was no date but I assume fairly recent. I wish I was able to actually buy these items when I’m in Iran, but I believe they are only sold in Tehran and probably in some small boutique in ritzy North Tehran at that!

12_8604160575_l6002

9_8604160575_l600

11_8604160575_l600

10_8604160575_l600

My other wish is that these styles would trickle down to the masses…okay granted, some of the designs I saw in older fashion shows have shown up in some of the better manteau shops…particularly the more expensive ones in Esfahan and Najafabad but still…it’s very minimal. There is either plain and very dull black/navy/brown/pinstripe print OR overly glitzy long black manteau that looks like a bad excuse for a Khaleeji abayaah (and only worn by older women!) or youthful and trendy but definetly NOT modest. I am really not seeing too much that is cute, trendy but modest at the same time. The closest to this middle groupd seems to be the modified poncho and butterfly styles that are very popular (or have been for the past few years) and a personal favorite.

I really wish there were more designs with traditional Persian prints or styling or designs based off of the traditional dresses of Iranian ethnic minorities and tribal groups. For example the outfits that the Lor women wear is just gorgeous but can’t be found in stores. Their outfit consists of a shin length long shirt that is akin to a Pakistani Kurta worn over a very full pleated circle skirt. Crushed velour or velvet seems to be a favorite and they are always very embellished. I always get excited when I see them in the local bazaars because I love catching glimpses of their gorgeous clothing!

3 thoughts on “Pictures from a recent Iranian fashion show

  1. Surprising! The outfits in the first two pics seem to be inspired by Indian designs. My fave is the one in white.🙂
    Oh and I completely agree with the “small boutique in ritzy North Tehran” thing!!!

  2. really, wow, I honestly thought the opp…like, wow nice traditional Persian motifs. You know though that a lot of Indian designs come from the Persianized Mughal period and is influenced by Persian designs, such as the omnipresent paisley which everyone thinks is Indian is actually originally Persian.
    I’m partial to the green outfit myself.

  3. Ha ha ha..I feel like a dork..have been living forever in India..tht’s how thought so..
    You maybe absolutely right regarding the Persian influence as my father always remarks that it was the Mughals who actually brought proper clothing and various designs to India..

Comments are closed.