I’m gettin’ some diraac’s…

OLD SCHOOL HIJABI HAS MOVED TO ITS OWN DOMAIN! THIS BLOG WILL NO LONGER BE UPDATED AT THIS ADDRESS…TO SEE THE NEW BLOG AND TO INTERACT WITH OLD SCHOOL HIJABI, GO TO WWW.OLDSCHOOLHIJABI.COM

I am really excited!A friend of mine, Umm Abdullah (authored several of this blogs posts)  is reselling several of her sister-in-laws diraac sets on ebay.

…and I’m getting two of them! en’shallah.

One is a ready-made diraac set. It’s like a farasha dress with a matching under skirt but no shawl and another is a 3 piece set that I’ll have to sew up. It’ll have the fabric for the dress, the under-skirt and the shawl that’s draped over the dress. Apparently you tuck the dress(which is made very very long) into the skirt like this…

(Picture from Umm Abdullah. Yellow diraac with purple flowers)

(Picture from Umm Abdullah. Yellow diraac with purple flowers)

The dress is going to be sheer so obviously u need to wear a light liner or wrap the shawl around your chest.

I adore this one as well…

(picture from Umm Abdullah. black floral diraac)

(picture from Umm Abdullah. black floral diraac)

These will be perfect for a womens party in Saudi. According to my friend  Diraacs are popular party wear in Saudi Arabia, particularly in the Western Cities. The diraac is indigenous to both Somalia and Yemen and of course Saudi is between the two countries and has a lot of people from both countries.

I honestly don’t know that much about diraacs only what my friend (Umm Abdullah) has told me. She is the diraac queen herself and is very knowledgable about them.

Hence, I asked her to write a nice post explaining what a diraac is and awesomely enough, she’s in the process of  starting her own web-based diraac business. She’s quite an expert seamstress and professionally sews Diraacs as well. en’shallah she will do so and within the next few days I’ll have a nice blog post all about the diraac!

On a side note,I honestly don’t know whether I’ve ever seen a diraac worn in real life. Our city is host to many many somali’s (mainly bantu) and the majority of the women continue to wear their traditional clothing or a westernized varient. Many of the younger women wear what might be a diraac to school or around the city. Many have on the long dress (like shown above, although the fabric is opsque) with a shawl wrapped around their chest and arms. I dont think I’ve ever seen any with the dress tucked into a under skirt.somaliwomen2

I have also seen many of the Somali women in a variety of other outfits. Some just wear long skirts with a teeshirt and a shawl around the arms and chest. Others wear the long khimaar over a skirt and others just wear a hodg-podge of stuff.

Somali Woman in Hijaab, Walking

I also found this picture…it’s of a Malaysian muslimah modelling a Somali Guntiino. No idea what they are…they look for of Saree-ish or something like what Sudanese women traditionally wear. Maybe Umm Abdullah knows.

(picture from Flickr)

(picture from Flickr)

(3 Somali girls)

(3 Somali girls)

3 thoughts on “I’m gettin’ some diraac’s…

  1. Jazakillaahkhayr for the kudos🙂. InshaAllaah your queries raised in this post will be addressed in mine😉. I am itching to answer them now; but won’t spoil it, hehe.

  2. Asalam Aleykum sister,
    I just came across your blog searching for diraac.I am a Somali and I must say the diraac is a big part of our tradition(fashion).Every Somali women has a closet full of all kinds of diraac colors,some women don’t wear the same diraac twice. I personally have so many, mostly as gifts from when I got married.But, we just wear the diraac at home for our men because it is not really appropriate in public, it’s very revealing.other than home, somali women also wear it to weddings where women gather together.THE DIRAAC IS REALLY BEAUTIFUL, I LOVE IT.Bless you sista.

Comments are closed.