Just some designs from Hijabs High that I had to share…

OLD SCHOOL HIJABI HAS MOVED TO ITS OWN DOMAIN! THIS BLOG WILL NO LONGER BE UPDATED AT THIS ADDRESS…TO SEE THE NEW BLOG AND TO INTERACT WITH OLD SCHOOL HIJABI, GO TO WWW.OLDSCHOOLHIJABI.COM

well, I don’t really have a lot to say right now as I’m trying to finish my last weeks of work. I just stumbled across the blog Hijabs High where sisters can snap pictures of another sisters hejab style and then share it on the blog.  Anyway here are some which I liked or thought were just totally krazaaaay.

*~*~*~*~*

dress7

Mashallah…I chose this one first because this is exactly how I used to dress when I was a teenager…way way way long time ago. I also wore this style right after 9/11 occurred and like every individual who looked like a Muslim was targeted for some “nice” verbal and/or physical harassment. While it’s not hejab in the “shariah” sense it is a nice “beginners” hijab…like good for the sisters who are new to covering and aren’t comfortable jumping into the deep end (i.e. full covering) quickly, it’s also good if you live in an area when covering fully would make you a a target for assault. I remember right after 9/11 occured a lot of sisters wore their scarves like this and sort of modified their outfits, there were also a LOT of fatawah that came out from the Marjah that wearing your hejab like this, during that time period was OK. Anyway, that was just a side-note.

But when I was a teenager I wanted to cover…like the full hejab soo badly but my mom was extremely against it so being young and under the parental thumb I covered like this, it worked and helped to get them used to seeing me covered.

dress1

Wow!!! WOWWW!!! For a womans party this would rock…but me thinks because she has on her hejab maybe it’s a mixed gender party. hmmm… I have never seen this-personally, but I bet I’ll have to get used to it once I’m in Saudi Arabia…huh? Must be an ‘Arab thing…Iranians are sooo not like this. LOL

dress2

Mashallah…she looks like a model! seriously…she belongs in Hejabi Vogue or something…Not 100% perfect hejab according to shariah but still beautiful and really, really close. mashallah!!! I have 2 pairs of hareem pants…maybe I should bust them out sometime!

dress3

Mashallah…I stuck this in because she’s Irani…ay dokhtar-e Irani…kheili ghashangi!… I never was a huge fan of the tie under chin look  but the whole ensamble is really unique and cute and would totally fit in, in Tehran or Esfahan or here in the west… I’d probably wear a forest green crepe maghneh with this instead of the roosari.

dress5She does the Khaleeji big head look REALLY REALLY well…she’s in S’pore though…go figure. I think as soon as I move to Saudi Arabia I’m going to buy one of those hijab hair clippy thingies so I can achieve such a look as well..it’s very slendarizing…

dress6

Mashallah… I LOVE her design, it’s totally funky street cool…you know…like she grabbed a Egyptian malhafah and paired it with a cardie, cool sneaks and some shaylah layers…VERY New York (she’s in London, I think)…very East Coast…

3 thoughts on “Just some designs from Hijabs High that I had to share…

  1. I LOVE LOVE LOVE that last one. I saw it on the Hijabs High blog a bit ago though! And you’re right, that girl in Cairo looks like a model. That’s fashion for sure! The top picture is a lot like my style. I don’t wear hijab yet, but I wear dark pants like that and I have a similar jean jacket and brown flats I like to wear too :p

  2. Hi! I just discovered your blog online. My husband and I spent 2008 in Riyadh and my what an experience! I did learn how to wear my hijab in the style of the najdi girls. I am very interested in trying to wear it in the emarati big head style. Did you ever figure it out? Also, what are these hijab hair clippy things you speak of. I am intrigued!

Comments are closed.