Random pictures from Emirati television

OLD SCHOOL HIJABI HAS MOVED TO ITS OWN DOMAIN! THIS BLOG WILL NO LONGER BE UPDATED AT THIS ADDRESS…TO SEE THE NEW BLOG AND TO INTERACT WITH OLD SCHOOL HIJABI, GO TO WWW.OLDSCHOOLHIJABI.COM

I am now slightly addicted to Emirate television…I’m not even in the Gulf yet but I’m trying to get up on the pop culture over there by watching the Emirati programs available online-in English of course.

I decided I’d share some random screen shots from some of the Emirate women in the programs I’ve seen, . In addition right now I don’t have too much time to really sit down and write a decent post on anything because we are moving out of our apt into an August sublet this weekend and are getting our Saudi visa paperwork together so we can en’shallah move there by the middle of August. eltemas doa’a!

The first set are just random snippets while the second set are shots of HerSay’s Emirati presenter,Aida Al-Busaidy…I love her scarves & her abayaat…though I’m not a huge fan of her  cultural way (not religious) of wearing them…but,whatever, it’s between her and God.

*~*~*~*

The niqab from a shaylah style… (I’ve tried this and I always feel like i’m suffocating!)

This was from a talk show: نلتقي مع بروين

negab

negab2

*~*~*~*

Old Emirati style

These 2 pictures below were from a talk show program which showcased a film about traditional Emirati life…I don’t know the title of the show.

oldstyle2

oldstyle3

Apparently there is a show that is supposed to show modern Emiratis what life was like “back then” and is set in a old=-style Emirati village and everyone dresses traditionally and they discuss and show traditional life. Here is the title in Arabic البراحة: الحلقة

oldstyle

oldstyle2

*~*~*~*

Onto the television show called HerSay and Aida’s style.  I really adore her abayaat and scarves, they are all so gorgeous…and it’s awesome she is so popular because it’s nice seeing a women in an abayaah and a scarf (even if it isnt worn religiously) on a national television show, it kind of reinforces the belief that you can do anything without sacrificing who you are…

Design 1

Nice rhinestone accents and apparently her abayaah is 2 layers, the underside is green satin and the outer is black crepe.

falling6

falling7

Design 2

Nice pop-ish colored shaylah…

falling

falling2

Design 3

Alas, gorgeous shaylah but I think she had scarf issues that day because within a 15 minute time frame the shaylah slide everywhere and she kept readjusting…really…I know they aren’t terribly hip for the cultural hijabi crowd but a strategically placed pin and an underscarf does wonders…

falling3

falling5

Design 4

Okay I LOVE her shaylah but alas…not a huge fan of the “drape” look w/ the scarf…plus she has the freshly tanned, back from Palm Beach with “nude” makeup look…no, alas girl…the “look” just doesn’t suit you.

falling14

Now onto two designs which I absolutely ADORE!!!

Design 5

I love this, it’s so beautiful…red roses and red accents on a black shaylah and abayaah. wow! mashallah…I actually have a shal I got as a gift during my last trip in Iran and it has the same theme going on…black with a few big, realistic looking red roses…

falling15

falling16

Design 6

I think this last design is the absolute tops! She also has henna on her hands and her “look” is so classic and mature. mashallah.

falling11

falling12

falling13

5 thoughts on “Random pictures from Emirati television

  1. Salaam alaikum,
    A niqabi on TV?! YES! That’s awesome!

    What exactly is the show, I’m curious? Is it a sort of talk show? And can it be viewed online (with English subtitles)?

    Cheers!

      • Sorry, I’m from Canada, the only niqabis that are on tv here are “terrorists” and that one woman on Little Mosque on the Prairie with the “hypnotizing eyes.” Lol.
        🙂

        Cheers.

Comments are closed.