Sunnah Style…

I am really adoring the latest abayah designs coming out of SunnahStyle.  I’m a fan of the butterfly style anyway and as far as i have been able to find out they are the only North American store online that stocks the farasha and the bisht designs.

Here are their latest abayah designs…

(Black onyx abayah from Sunnah Style)

(Black onyx abayah from Sunnah Style)

(Henna-inspired sleeved Abayah from Sunnah Style)

(Henna-inspired sleeved Abayah from Sunnah Style)

(Black shisha-sleeved Abayah from Sunnah Style)

(Black shisha-sleeved Abayah from Sunnah Style)

(Black elegance silk Abayah from Sunnah Style)

(Black elegance silk Abayah from Sunnah Style)

Ive purchased from them several times and overall was pretty satisfied with the purchases. Their customer service is really great and although they are in Canada they ship fast and here in the eastern half of the USA I got my items within about 5 working days. The first item I ordered from them was one of their half sleeved farasha’s…I purchased it late last winter and although the design was cute I do admit I was a bit miffed about the quality. Yes for the price it was good but not *as good* as I would have hoped (i’m picky). I emailed them about this and they were very kind about it and said they were working on improving fabric quality and garment construction.

I then purchased the silver sands bisht below at a later date (mid-spring) and a niqab with a larger eye opening for use in Saudi Arabia and I have to admit that the quality of their new items was improved and they told me that are continually working on improving the quality.

The bisht is a really cute style…I still prefer the farasha though as it has a bit more of a defined shape and is also a bit easier to handle while the bisht is huge…simply huge. I did end up stitching 2 small side seams inside the bisht from about bust to navel just to make the abayah a bit easier to handle. O fcourse when it comes to coverage the bisht can’t be beat. Just know it’s a lot of fabric to handle.

(Silver Sands Abayah from Sunnah Style)

(Silver Sands Abayah from Sunnah Style)

I also got this niqab…just a plain and simple One Piece Tie-Back Niqab. No eye veils or anything…I inquired with them which would be the most comfortable to wear with glasses and for a sister that is new to wearing Niqab and they suggested this style.

(picture from sunnahstyle.com)

(picture from sunnahstyle.com)

They also told me about this new kind of niqab they designed with a wider eye opening,called the “No-Pinch” which is supposed to be even more comfortable for those who wear glasses, have wide faces (and wide set eyes) or just find normal niqab eye openings not comfortable enough. These only just came out or else I would have purchased one of these as well.

(picture taken from sunnatysle.com)

(picture taken from sunnatysle.com)

They are also pretty innovative with styles…they have this neat niqab which mimics the popular khaleeji shaylah draped-over head style with niqab. Instead of the extra fabric and bulk the top eye veil is actually really long and is cut on a curve so the wearer brings it up and lays it over the head in the shaylah style. I really think it’s so gorgeous…I wonder though whether the style is comfortable to wear and whether there arent problems with the fabric sliding around or off your head when walking…anyone know?

(picture taken from sunnahstyle.com)

(picture taken from sunnahstyle.com)

So because I’m still in the States, I havent really worn the niqab I got off of them yet…I’m not a niqabi, but I needed something to take with me to Saudi as I am definetly wearing niqab there so I guess once I start wearing it I should be able to rate it better. Sofar though it seems like a good niqab. I really dislike niqabs with cotton backings as the fibers can get in your mouth (I wore niqab briefly before 9/11 and so remember the cotton backed ones best) and I am not a huge fan of some of the fabrics used for niqabs…like some are even available in cotton jersey! The trend also used to be for the headband niqabs to have a very stiff wide headband…those were hot and could be uncomfortable to wear as the headband would stick up really high, giving you a darth vader sort of look plus all the stiffening really served no purpose. This niqab has a narrower headband and there is no stiffening in it, the crepe used is very light and sofar feels very breathable.

Update…so, one of the sisters who runs SS saw this post and mentioned something about the butterfly style niqabs to me in an e-mail.

“You asked in your post whether the butterfly style is comfortable to wear and whether the flip layer moves around.  In response, yes the style is comfortable to wear and like all of our niqabs it is without the cotton lining and stiffened headband.  The flip layer will be blown back if there is a breeze or if you are walking so it does need to be pinned.  One stick pin on the top of the head or two on either side keeps it in place very well.  A number of customers have asked how to wear this style so we are planning to add a tutorial for it to our blog soon inshaa’Allaah.”

Jazakhallakhair sis Ruqayyah!

10 thoughts on “Sunnah Style…

  1. I just got some money for Islamic clothing mashaAllaah so I ordered the silky shiny abaya they just brought out amongst a few other things; I am worried that it may be huge on me as it seems their sizing goes up dramatically along with the length; but lets see InshaAllaah.

  2. I would like to order from them, but the sizing seems to be so big. I’m afraid I’ll get lost in the abaya!

  3. Melissa; the company is aware that the sizing seems big; and so when you first order now; they will email you to verify that you have indeed ordered the correct size in that particular style, sometimes you can get away with a couple of sizes shorter because a lot of their styles run long anyway, I’d avoid the bisht styles if you’re worried about that as they are absolutely huge; I used to have one (before they became fashionable) and I used to feel I was leaving it behind; it would fall down at the back and end up trailing on the floor and then someone would step on it or put a chair on it; what a nightmare!

  4. As Salaamu Alaikum:

    I also purchase from sunnah style and I find that their customer service is great. If you want to return your abaya, you can and they will send you another you think would fit you better. This happened to me when I purchased my first farasha abaya from them. It was HUGE and I had to return it. I got another one and it fit me just fine. I love it!!

  5. Asalaamu `alaikum Umm Ibrahim!!

    The last picture of the silk `abaya is really pretty!! And the new trend of wearing a stiff band in the niqaab is here too — it looks kinda cool to me but I think the band would make my forehead feel too warm.

    Nice blog, BTW!!

    • Really…has the stiff band become trendy again in the UAE? I remember that look from like a half decade ago…all the ones I’m seeing right now r stiffening-less…subhanallah…because yeah they do make your forehead really hot and sweaty… yeah that silk one IS gorg…mashallah *drools*

    • I had one as well…but unfortunately found the crepe to be pretty un-breathable…esp once I reached Saudi- maybe they have changed the crepes they use while I was gone. For some reason most Niqabs available in the western countries have insanely tiny eye openings. For the few months I wore niqab in Saudi I found that without a doubt, almost all niqabs made for the Saudi market-and available in Saudi had quite generous eye openings, all of which easily accommodated glasses…I think because they are so everyday the norm there, that they have to be more comfortable.

  6. Asalaamu alaykum akhwaat.

    I ordered from sunnahstyles on the 26th november 2012 and chose the 6-12 working days delivery, I am still waiting for my niqaab. It’s my first time ordering from them so InshaAllah i won’t be let down. Ive been looking for this niqaab for a while so I’m really excited to try it on. What do you think, should i just be patient? P.s i live in the UK BarakAllahu feekum

Comments are closed.