Interesting outfit to the mall last evening…

So with my husbands complete support I wore a long light blue “Badia” tunic from Shukr with a black skirt and big black rayon shaylah. The look was rather subtle but definitely different, extremely modest and probably stood out   bit (in a good way, en’shallah). I felt comfortable in it and although I did get some looks and staring, they were more curious, nothing hostile. Maybe I got 1-2 looks of “surprise” from some older, well covered Saudi ladies but since I can’t understand Arabic, I wasn’t too worried.

The mutawween didn’t care either, I passed by like five of them and even although the first few times my heart would palpate and I’d break out in a sweat when around one-WAITING-for them to say something, they dint, they just looked and then looked elsewhere.

I think because I obviously look like an expat they really don’t care, as long as I’m well covered. I know Saudi women have societal pressure on them to conform to the black ensemble (it’s considered ‘ayb/shameful to be too colorful in public or to dress from the norm!). I cant wait for my light grey abaya to be finished and I think tonight I’ll wear a long tunic with a denim skirt.

I don’t think I’m doing anything wrong, it’s good for ones psychology to have some color in their lives AND i’m *hopefully* showing that one can be just as modestly dressed in a colored abaya or tunic and skirt! A black abaya isnt the only modest form of dress out there.

Allahu alim.

5 thoughts on “Interesting outfit to the mall last evening…

  1. Kudos to Umm Ibrahim!
    I wonder what is the reason that KSA women have to only wear black outside? I thought people understand Arabic better that anywhere else.
    Allah is Jamiilun and I always thinks beauty is related to colour.
    I like black but I like it better if I can choose.

  2. Masha’Allah! It must feel great to take a break from wearing all black all the time. I know I couldn’t do that; it’s not part of my culture (American), and all black just doesn’t look good on me. Insha’Allah more women in Saudi will realize that wearing colors (not even necessarily bright colors) and conforming to hijab rules are not mutually exclusive.

  3. I think that its great you are breaking the culture of solely black. That is brave and I would say keep it up.

    A question on the mutawween: How many are there and how likely are you to bump into one say you go shopping? And what sort of powers do they have? Forgive my ignorance.

  4. Saudi women don’t really have much choice. The culture makes you conform whether you want to or not. And, while they would like to change the system, no one wants to be the first to change as they would be the sacrifical lamb. I’ve discussed these types of subjects with many Saudi men and women. I’d way when the present old guard pass the torch, then changes will start. Just my opinion.

Comments are closed.