New chador fabrics!

I’ve been meaning to share some pictures of the new chador crepe fabrics the hubby and I purchased during our recent trip to Medinah!

You might be surprised to find out that Medinah is sorta like a “hub” for chador fabrics! Yah, seriously!  neither dh nor I were entirely aware of this, although it’s well known (and we knew) that anytime you go for Omrah and hence go to Medinah it would be scandelous not to come back with a couple dozen meters of fabric (for chadors) as gifts for every female relative in the entire family. Its quite the long standing tradition and indeed a popular wedding gift for the new, young bride (and her immediate female relatives) is fabrics suitable for house chadors  purchased in Medinah!

Hence, when we went we decided that the best gift we could get, would be…yes, you guess it…loads and loads of fabric! LOL.

We ended up purchasing enough fabrics for 17 chadors! Yeah, thats like 76 meters of material! hah.

Okay so, we got 5 different fabrics as not everyone likes the same stuff. We got a little bit of the everyday, printed, floral, cotton blend material for the older women in the family who are anti-black colors (old school types), then we got some really beautiful Japanese crepe with lovely gold swishy designs which neither dh nor I have ever seen before but fell immediately in love with upon seeing it for the women who do wear black but are anti-ALL black color (semi-old school types)-I really MUST take a picture of that material. Its gorgeous!

Then for us younger gals…black crepe but the trendy sort which is like burn-away velvet! Me, my SIL (my age) and another female relative got the almost sheer kind while 2 other women who are much more conservative got the more opaque kind.

Funnily enough, dh did NOT believe me at first when I got him the semi-sheer, burn-away crepe was uberly trendy. Being a typical man, he tends to NOT pay attention to trends when it comes to overgarments and so the fact that most women clamour over a chador made in such material entirely escaped his notice…that is, UNTIL, being the typical husband that he is, he called up his brother and made sure that sure crepe was indeed “cool”. LOL

It’s lovely material isnt it…the fact that its semi-sheer doesn’t really matter as you wear it over a knee or calf length (in my case) manteau, jeans and a big maghneh or shaylah anyway.

and…this is the more opaque burn-away type of crepe. I think its lovely too, but I chose the semi-sheer one for myself.

One perk to buying all the fabrics in Medinah is that the prices are actually really, really cheap. The same sort of semi-sheer, burn-away crepe is normally like triple the price we payed! Yah, the crepes used for chadors tend to be quite expensive, which is why most women only own 1 chador at a time and why the newer chador-e melli which is similar to a overhead abaya is so popular as they come ready made and are a lot cheaper than if you have to buy the crepe and then make the traditional chador.

13 thoughts on “New chador fabrics!

  1. ASalaamu Alaikum

    Old people wear colours, young people wear black? Seriously? I would think it would be the opposite. Of course it is like that for Christians ..black equals rebellious and colours are for grannies.But I have a feeling that you mean something else…ie you think the younger people are more religious.

  2. I like the semi-sheer fabric over the purple you are wearing🙂

    How can we contact you about a possible purchase? I have a request for something you don’t have in stock in your store!

  3. I personally don’t get really into the burnt velvet look – I remember 10 years ago it was really in for shaylas/hijabs. I’d probably be an old fogie and want a colored chador, but if in Iran I’d go with what would not make me subject to ridicule.🙂 Aishah, no, I don’t think she is saying that, but in Iran that is indeed the way it goes, as far as I know – older people wear the traditional colored/patterned chadors while the young are more into black. When I went on hajj you could see that from the Iranian hajjis.

    • well, your partially right. It has more to do with tradition than being religious or rebellious or whatever else. Historically, women did NOT wear black chadors except to funerals. So black had connontations of death and funerals and so forth. So women normally owned one black chador which would last them like their entire life as it was reserved only for certain things. Women generally wore printed chadors for everyday wear-inside the house and outside. But, after the Revolution, black became the norm as it had connotations of struggle and because so many died in the war in the ’80’s that black became the norm. BUT, most older women, esp those from rural backgrounds or small towns tend to still not wear black chadors and even younger women from traditional families, they will wear a black chador when outside because its the social norm, but when home would never wear anything black as it would be upsetting to the family. It has nothing to do with rebelliousness or religiosity, its just societal norm and tradition.

      Hope this explains it.

      • …and as a quickie note, I have started to see some younger women wearing black chadors with funky prints on them as there is now black crepe with some interesting colorful patterns on it and my last trip, I did see a few young women wearing chadors with that fabric. They really, really stood out.

  4. I remember the changeover when women started wearing mainly black.The same thing has been happening in recent years with women from Indonesian and Malaysia. Colors are getting darker, and I see young women wearing black hijab, which never used to happen before. I have an old book of pre-KSA Arabian peninsula clothes,and overgarments, and some of them are blazingly bright in reds, oranges and bright greens! Upper class women and women of the Sultan’s household wore black, so in the days of the Ottoman Empire, black overgarments were expensive (before modern dyes, black was a very difficult color to get and maintain) and prestigious.

  5. wow thats really interesting, i never knew that chadors used to be colored. also interesting farzana what you said about black being a prestigious color in the past

  6. (edited for bad language) u r a white **** who married an arab n now pretends she is muslim…ur a ******

    • Actually, …i’m not married to an Arab, showharam arabi nist…and have worn hejab since I was a teenager in High School… hamisheh hejab mideham…so no, on all counts. Oh and do not use bad language. I don’t use it on this blog nor do I allow my commentors to use it either. mifahmidid?

  7. Salamon alaikum
    I have been looking for instructions for this chador. I will try to make the pattern and post it here
    jazakum allah khayran

Comments are closed.