I’m back!

asalaamu alaikum

Alhamdullah, we are back in the states! We moved into a new townhouse in a suburb of the big city we resided in before we left for Saudi. I’m right now job hunting for something in my field (Librarianship), the pickings are slim, although I have applied for some Library assistant jobs at the local Universities. Please keep me in your doa’at!

Only major downside to where we are living now is the area is 100% a car-needing area! I’m a city girl and admit 100% that I do NOT know how to drive! LOL…Ive always lived where I can hop on the bus or subway for everything OR walk! Here…we have everything in the area and also some beautiful parks but there are NO sidewalks and the streets are not set up for pedestrians at all. Needless to say, I’m going a bit stircrazy…as much as I loathed things in KSA, atleast we had a compound shuttle so I could get around! Here…its difficult. The hubbster is trying to teach me but its hard, I’m not a teenager and I am sort of scared behind the wheel. LOL. Anyway…in the meantime, I’m busy applying for jobs!

Please, please keep me in your doa’at!

Also…Ramadan Kareem! I know some people started on the 10th and some are starting on the 11th!

I have a lot of pictures from Iran to share-we alhamdullah, finally got to go and see Persepolis (Takht-e Jamsheed-Jamsheed’s throne) and several other ancient historical sites. Unfortunately, the time we were in Iran was not as fun as in times past…but hey, Persepolis rocked!

As a post-script...even though we are in some crazy suburb area I’m still wearing the abayaat and shaylahs…although sometimes I do switch it up with a manteau or poncho or whatever…I just prefer them…although since the area isnt too…um…diverse…Ive gotten some interesting looks sofar! LOL…I was used to being stared at in Saudi because I obviously do not look Saudi but here, hehehehe…it’s back to the “LOOKS”…you all know what I mean. huh.

Yesterday we went to Superwalmart to get a bit of groceries and dh left me his credit card while he ran over to another store and I go and check out…ofcourse its busy and there were like 5 families behind me…and I put the card through 3 times and each time it was declined. The young girl (teenager) behind the register was giving me some seriously evil eye as were the women behind me, even though I rapidly called dh back over and I was blushing, apoligizing, the girl at the register was getting a bit ticked off. I was obviously holding up the line. DH ran over just in time as the girl was getting ready to call a manager. LOL…I understand its annoying when stuff like that happens, but I got just nasty looks from everyone.

Once at the car, we joked that they probably thought I just found the card somewhere and was trying to use it, or something sketchy like that. Oh, it was declined because dh closed it when we were in Saudi and forgot that it was the closed one! Oops! Nice!

12 thoughts on “I’m back!

  1. Alhamdulillah al Salama! That Bahraini shayla looks fantastic although I could never get away with wearing it (bump is too big for my head hehe). I am in a suburban area too and wear abayas 50% of the time… I feel better in them than out of them so why not, we may as well! I have just started wearing hijab so the “looks’ are still hard but ahhhh well Allahu alim.

  2. salaam alaikhoum and ramadan kareem. Does that bahraini shayler fit like an abayah or khimar, or is it designed so as it covers the face also. Maasalaama

    • well its a shaylah which means its a scarf, so its just a scarf-but a rectangular scarf called a Shaylah or Tarha in Saudi. Semantics aside, in common everyday usage generally most women consider the long-pull over scarf like the sort favored in Egypt as a “khimaar”, so no this is definitely not a khimaar…an abaya is something else entirely different as its like a long gown (in modern terms)…whereas traditionally it was the term for a huge overhead abaya which is square shaped.

  3. Wow, I didn’t know anyone started on the tenth. Ramadan Mubarak, as far as I know most everyone is starting on the 12th except Saudi.

    Definitely learn to drive and get your license ASAP – you’re never too old to learn new things and it will make things so much easier for your husband and you and just open doors for you for work and help your kids – so many advantages!!!!! Just swallow your nervousness – you can do it, I know you can!

    You should have no trouble wearing abaya anywhere in U.S. – you might more looks with overhead abayas and niqab, but regular abaya should go just fine, although you’ll have more looks if you wear all black than if you wear some color.

    Ugh, embarrassing about the credit card – I’m glad he was actually still there to fix before things continued!

  4. I believe Indonesia may have started on the 10th and most of Europe and quite a few gulf countries have started today (the 11th). As far as I heard it is only really Oman starting on the 12th. Alhamdulillaah you’re back! I noticed you mooching about facebook but thought I’d leave you to settle in first. I also don’t drive and due to my dyspraxic tendencies and the fact most vehicles here are not automatic (you can learn in an automatic but then the types of vehicles you are licensed to drive is considerably more limited), I’m not sure I’ll ever learn to be honest.

  5. It doesn’t really matter, but that is not quite the same as what moonsighting.com says:
    http://moonsighting.com/1431rmd.html
    According to it, the moon was not sighted anywhere on Tuesday evening except a single spurious sighting in Saudi, but Saudi declared for 11th anyway, and many countries follow Saudi even though no moon is sighted. It says Indonesia declared for the 11th even though moon was not possible to be sighted. 10th was 28 Shaban for nearly all the world, they say.

    The difference is in whether people go on sightings of moon to verify beginning of month has actually occurred, or merely on calculations of new moon date. Apparently some Sunnis go on calculation or just follow Saudi regardless, but not all, and most Shias and many Sunnis apparently go on actual sighting which means all those people would be starting on 12th. If you look at the moonsighting curve, it verifies it couldn’t be seen Tuesday night.

    • Well, sad to say…we realized that the culture, lifestyle and society in Saudi is beyond jacked up. To be blunt. Its much better being back in the US or elsewhere…things really, just are so messed up over there…there is no respect for anyone, people are treated like slaves, people are lazy and the behavior of people is pretty far from anything Islamic. My dh worked at a University and bribery and threats were the norm to get Professors to give better grades, and thats pretty normal at most places. I could go on and on…but, I wont!

      I would move to Oman or Bahrain thou as the society is better.

  6. Salaam from Afghansitan, where, just to add to the conversation, we stared on the 11th. Alhamdulilah ur back!!!

    While you look for a job, watch this series, Muslim Driving School, and if the “Khaleh Jaan” doesn’t inspire you, then, well, SHE WILL. You and I have established we are bout the same age, and I didn’t get my license till I was 25, although I kinda knew how to drive from 15, I never practices and was always scared and lived in urban places, just didn’t need too. But finally i got it. And then last year, the senior diver at my office actually taught me how to drive stick shift – in Afghansitan, where you hardly ever ever see ladies driving! I use to get so scared at the rounds-about especially and freeze up and he would get out of the car and push me over. But then after a few weeks (we would only practice on Fridays) I totally go the hang of it, and I felt SO EMPOWERED driving there, and I’m sure u will too and will love the independence! Anyway, watch that series, it’s pretty inspiring….

    Boxie already took the time to post them all on her blog here: http://and4somethingdifferent.blogspot.com/2010/03/muslim-driving-school.html

    • Salaam alaikhoum. How do you get on with driving. I presume you only do so in a very restricted area, considering the security problems? I also presume that you just where a hijaab, not a niqaab or a burka, which would also entail only going to limited areas; after all, apart from the I.E.D. risk, I presume (especially considering the recent news), that the “bad guys” would have something to say about a women out and about on her own,driving, and not completely covered up! Maasalaama, Sr. Amelia

      • Salaam – I assume ur comment is directed at me, and not to take up more space on Umm Ibrahim’s wall, but just to respond: there is no law banning women from driving in Afghanistan so technically there are no restrictions. At the same time, it’s something you just rarely see, and only in Kabul – it’s just a cultural thing, where women are a lot less publicly independent in society. I don’t wear a niqaab or burqa, so I would just wear a hijab while driving. I’ve driven at all hours of the day and night, all over Kabul, through check points and traffic and never faced any major problems accept staring a the occasional man trying to cut me off (and of course comments/cat calls). As for the IEDs, I mean that’s always a risk, but much lower in Kabul – as they are more used to target convoys and military routes out in the provinces then in the captiol. To add to my previous comment, check out this fab little series by BBC from 5 years ago called Afghan Ladies Driving School, it’ll shed more light on the situation: http://fliiby.com/file/129414/rjhz4hazd7.html

Comments are closed.