Hejab exhibition in Tehran

I had more pictures but they are on my really old laptop which recently died. I’m trying to see if I can locate them online somewhere else.

Anywho, there was a hejab exhibit in Tehran recently-I think they must be pretty common bvecause when I was in Shiraz in July there were posters everywhere about some big, hejab and hejab vendors exhibit at some big place in downtown Shiraz. I obviosuly wanted to go but my husband, his bro and their friend…being a-typical men…nixed it. Afterall…its funner to sit in some hot,crowded park somewhere and roast while you drink tea. Men!

The exhibits basically engage in a lot of hejab propoganda, there are discussions and a huge area for vendors.

3 thoughts on “Hejab exhibition in Tehran

  1. Man, I really wish I was there! I agree, chadors are very pretty; I used to look at them in a negative light (big scary pasdar ladies, etc.), but now I like them so much that I actually went out and bought a chador-style abaya raas. Did they only showcase chadors and khimars there, or did they have other things like manteaus, jilbabs, more traditional Persian outfits, etc.? Thanks for the great pictures!

    • well, I really dont know. Based on the pictures it was exhibits of types of modern chador (sleeved kind) and scarves-usually types of maghnehs. Jilbabs and kimaars dont really exist in Iran like how they do in say Egypt or Jordan. Sorry. I doubt manteau were a part as they are becoming horribly immodest-tight and short and cut to be extremely form-fitting. Most religious women are just doning the modern chadors verses doing the manteau with traditional chador. And the traditional Persian outfits arent worn anymore, I know some designers in Tehran have incorporated some tribal elements in their designs, but I have yet to see it trickle down to the masses outside of Tehran (esp outside of the wealthy, boutique areas). The only Iranians who still really wear their traditional clothing are those who are tribal or minority groups…loors, qashqai, bandari, baloochi, turkoman, etc some very very rural women in certain, far off villages…otherwise its pretty universally mainstream. Those designs arent really popular in mainstream Persian society as they are tribal or minority outfits and even a lot of those minority or tribal women, if they go to the city or move or travel sometimes adopt the mainstream styles.

Comments are closed.