Just so I say it…again

Yes, yes…I know, Ive said it once, Ive said it twice…I ought to stop, but no, I figured I’d say it again! I’m just getting rather frustrated because its seems like the number of Muslimaat bloggers who blog about Islamically appropriate clothing is shrinking and shrinking while the numbers of Muslimaat who blog about really inappropriate clothing WORN as hejab just grows and grows and grows! Almost every blog Ive seen is doing this, I frankly don’t understand whats going on…heavens forbid you say something because then its assumed your trying to be better than someone else. I dont think this is the case, its important to give naseehah and actually there are hadeeths about educating a fellow Muslim that is doing something inappropriate and that it is important to do so!

Hadeeth Qudsi 22:
On the authority of Abu Sa’id (may Allah be pleased with him), who said that the Messenger of Allah (PBUH) said:

Let not any one of you belittle himself. They said: O Messenger of Allah, how can any one of us belittle himself? He said: He finds a matter concerning Allah about which he should say something, and he does not say [it], so Allah (mighty and sublime be He) says to him on the Day of Resurrection: What prevented you from saying something about such-and-such and such-and-such? He say: [It was] out of fear of people. Then He says: Rather it is I whom you should more properly fear.

It was related by Ibn Majah with a sound chain of authorities.

***************************************

Since I’m having fun now with Polyvore…

But this would look swanky and be Islamically appropriate for those sisters who cover themselves in hejab!

***************************************

Just for the record, I am not aiming this at new converts or those new to covering and can not afford a major wardrobe overhaul, Allah swt knows that it took me a long time to have a wardrobe full of modest attire…alhamdullah, back in the day it was indeed really hard to find shirts going past the hips or long, slitless skirts, jilbabs were hard to come by too. In those days I wore what I could find and the sadaqah box at my local masjid was my friend, I also gladly took donated items from sisters who wanted to help those of us new to covering out. In turn I have over the years donated many items to newly covering sisters in the hopes that they will cover themselves as we are supposed to, as Muslim women, en’shallah.

What upsets me is Muslim women who know better yet choose to ignore the rulings about covering and instead choose to follow their ego or fashion to the extreme and in particular those who are very active and visible in their community or online as they are then swaying those who maybe do not know better, into thinking such attire is Islamically appropriate.

There is a middle ground, en’shallah we can all find it.

12 thoughts on “Just so I say it…again

  1. I don’t read many hijabi fashion blogs, but I haven’t really noticed inappropriate clothing being featured on any of them. Nevertheless, I know what you’re talking about. I try to keep a middle ground with my hijab as much as possible. I wear only jilbab-type clothes with shirts and pants underneath them (so they count as overgarments), and I always make sure my khimar covers my chest and my lower chin. However, I do not wear niqab, and I wear colors (I try to avoid black as much as possible) and patterns. I think there are many “correct” ways to wear hijab, and as long as the basic rules are followed (long, loose clothes, khimar covering everything but the face, nothing too flashy) then we are free to be creative.

  2. Well, add my voice to the chorus. I’d love to see you do a whole tutorial or something, you never know who you might help. Imagine someone new to hijab who sees everyone else doing it and figures it must be okay. We have to be careful about what we establish as normal.

  3. Asalaamu Alaikum

    I agree with what you are saying. I’m new to blogging but I heard that all the religious blogs were started 10 yrs ago and that most of those people have stopped blogging and that blogs have been taken over by more ‘modern’ types. I guess this is why we only hear from them then. Even though I hate black clothes, I love the jilbab you featured..it flows very nicely. Masha Allah for forbidding the wrong and enjoining the good.

  4. Salam alikum , yes i did notice this as well everywehre at youtube muslimahs show how to wear “stylish” hijabs by taking of the scarf to put it back on . Or wearing “Hijabs” what do not serve the purpose of covering properly.
    When i watch my Arabic Satalite Tv , finding Muslim women in skin tight jeans and short tops, with noughty make up more than Sexy. What a non muslimah in my birth country Germany would not wear on daytime on the street.
    I question myself wehre we are going from here ?
    In Australia ,were i live in a very multi culuti suburb close to Sydney Muslim women are crossing my way in sexy jeans or skinny mini skirts with tight leggins under. I just think every one know what they doing, but if i’m choose to be a muhajabah and wear Hijab then i should do it right! As i first coverted to Islam i did not know the 100% proper way how to dress as muslim women . But if you are a muslimah who are grow up with scarf and decide to go the wrong way by not understanding the thin way between stylish and sexy what leads to sin. By the way stylish is in my eyes is 95% getting to much attention from men. Personaly i wear a ishdal style very long hijab what covers near all the face , and a very baggy abaya under with very long arm cover . When i go out for shopping finding often Hijab wearing women laughing about my style, but this is for me the only way to be sure that i’m covered properly. Ones i did wear a Turkish style Hijab with wide abaya and as i did put my baby son in the child seat in the car finding 2 taxi driver behind me on the other side of the street joking about my bottom , which of course the shape is to see as i bend down. And from attention my backside got i decided to do something about it ( was happen more than ones by other men). By just ignoring the fact , i would maybe make a mistake? I dont know but , some muslim frinds think that by wearing the same dress Stylish sexy as non muslim they would have it easy to get their Hijab invisable and being accepted more easily in the non muslim society.

  5. Another thing i was subscribe to your webside because it was different as the other muslim fashion sites to find in the web.First time i found chadors , burkas, ishadals really differnt from the other sides about dressing up.
    This get attention from women want style different as jeans and hijab🙂

    • jazakhallakhair sisters for the encouraging remarks to this post. I was a bit scared about making this post and I had it on private for a few weeks because I didnt want to incite rude remarks. But, Allahu alim.

      Unforunately the majority of the blogs I used to follow I no longer do so as there is just post after post after post raving about someones hejab style where they have on attire that is obviously not Islamically hejab OR they rave about wearing such and such an outfit which is not Islamically appropriate and should you mention this your post gets either a-deleted or b-told off. Personally I prefer Stylish Muslimah, ILoveHIshma (defunct?), Hijabi and the City because there is none of this.

      I’m definetly not saying one should ONLY wear black or wear just abayaat-oh heavens no, there are many, many different styles one can wear which would be Islamically suitable…but unfortunately there is very little focus on this anymore. Everything is short sleeved, tight clothing, skinnie pants, showing curves and everything else!

      Tanya…yes I have similar experiences, I’ve had some crazy comments thrown my way by some hejabi women because I generally dress very conservatively and sort of simply=although it’s my own style and what I like, the fact that I prefer overgarments or tunics with wide Shukr pants and big scarves upsets some Muslim women, they think we are going to give Muslims a bad name, thats its better to “blend” in with skinnies and short sleeves. Ya rabb!

      Allahu alim…

  6. Salam Sis,

    I regularly follow your blog and I kind of felt like this might be targeted towards me?

    If so, I just wanted to let you know that I was not trying to tell you off in anyway. I was trying to express myself via the internet which is easy for people to misinterpret.

    When I wrote the post featuring legging jeans, it’s because I found these amazing pants that look and feel exactly like jeans, but they call them legging jeans since they are made without a zipper. It’s just a pull on jean and is very comfortable. I was trying to use the exact photo for polyvore but it wouldn’t load so I ended up using a regular legging jean picture. That may have been why there is a misunderstanding that I’m trying to promote immodest clothes.

    I know there is the fad of skinny jeans which I personally hate, but I have never ever promoted such a thing. I also try to focus on clothing that most Muslim and non-Muslim women would wear that is conservative and modest.

    Of course I also like to showcase clothes that people may want to wear indoors from time to time.

    I hope this clarifies the situation.🙂

    • salaams, oh good gosh no way! Your blog is quite awesome, alhamdullah…I’m targeting this more at the blogs which showcase a lot of Muslim women in really immodest dress which they somehow consider hejab-yet-Islamically it isnt and then rave about it which in turn gets other Muslim women thinking its OK and then the fad spirals out of control. I hate to say this but Ive been so busy I forgot to check back on your blog! eeks! Forgive me!

  7. Ok so now you know that I’ve got major paranoia😛
    I like to keep open communication, so feel free to keep me on the straight and narrow sis. If you ever see something that bothers you, don’t hesitate to let me know. I really appreciate it.
    🙂

  8. I’m glad you posted this, it dosn’t seem accusatory or inflamatory. It is done in good taste….and backed up by hadith. Insha’Allah this will really help some of our sisters out.

    I had to delete a lot of the Muslim “fashion” blogs off my blogroll because of this.

    Jazak Allah khair, sis🙂

  9. Thank you so much for these words!
    Understanding what is the proper hijab is soooooo important!

    Jazakallahou kheyr❤

Comments are closed.