Beautiful Grecian drapes…

Dibaj abaya from 3abaya.com

Currently the most popular abayaat styles coming out of the Gulf resemble beautiful Grecian draped gowns. The “IT” fabric is a lightweight crepe with a touch of stretch to it or a nicely draping jersey.  I don’t know about all of you but I *love* this look!

Right as I was getting ready to leave Al-Khobar last July these had become popular in the local markets. Not so much these Grecian style beauties but using Jersey materials and interesting drapes to the standard abaya cut had become extremely popular and even lower cost abayaat were showing up with jersey cuffs and collars. I could’nt resist buying one from Bedoon Essm because they had *just* become trendy and the one I have is pretty simple yet had lovely drapes and can either be snap front or wrap/kimono style. Because its black it goes with everything. mashallah.

These fully Grecian style abayaat are available for online purchase from UAE based 3Abaya.com. Just know they are designer beauties and come with the authentic designer price tag. Ofcourse even off the rack in Khobar good quality Jersey abayaat were generally around $80 and up due to the material costs.

Oman based Queen Crown has some lovely ones which are more budget at around $400.

Queen Crown abaya from 3abaya.com

Queen Crown abaya from 3abaya.com

Queen Crown abaya from 3abaya.com

Queen Crown abaya from 3abaya.com

Queen Crown abaya from 3abaya.com

From Songes…

Songes abaya from 3abaya.com

Songes abaya from 3abaya.com

Songes abaya from 3abaya.com

from Effa…

Effa abaya from 3abaya.com

Effa abaya from 3abaya.com

 

9 thoughts on “Beautiful Grecian drapes…

  1. Hmmm, interesting… maybe for a special occasion. But I’m not sure about some of the designs which seem too tight around the derriere, too transparent or just too voluminous and fussy in the accents and details. Not for me I think.

  2. Glad to see you back….I agree with halima, some of them would be more suitable for a special occassion than everyday wear, especially the first few

    • here neither…norm stuff from the Gulf takes several years to trickle to the western Muslim masses…i.e. the butterfly style was in there as far back as 2005, its been out now for atleast 4 years but they only became popular here a few years ago. LOL…typical.

  3. Asalaam Alaikum…Welcome back! These are all stunning styles. I love the ample sleeves.
    Before you went offline, you mentioned you would post some patterns if there was any interest. Please share.

    • wa salaam…well yes, I am trying to make up some patterns but dang its hard doing patterns using an online program…LOL…so gimme some time…and en’shallah I’ll finish them soon, they would be in pdf formatte and are based off of what I have, so obv some tweaking would be necessary unless your around my height…LOL. OK. But yah, en’shallah…

  4. These are so easy to get tailored here, and cheap. They actually don’t stick to your butt at all unless they are straight cut on the body. Most are assymetrically cut so they flow. The designer ones are still pricey but the fact is, I don’t know why. The stretch fabric costs way less than abaya fabrics like koshibo or silks ect.

    I am just trying to fix my computer’s bluetooth, but I will be uploading Jersey designs I will ship to USA, Canada, France, Germany and Australia (if you have another country I’ll do my best). They range from 20-50 Omani rials. ($52.00-$130.00 USD) Keep an eye out on the boutique blog for them:) If you like any of the ones pictured, email it to me and I have a great tailor who charges me per hour, and lets me buy the stretch myself which means great deals.

    I am still looking for Saudi niqabs with the widow peak, Um Ibrahim so if you know someone I can get them from let me know:)

Comments are closed.