I don’t agree with Mona ElTahawy…

You know… it really makes me feel depressed to see someone be so ignorant about their own faith and even their own culture…

While I give mad props to any western Muslim woman of any ethnic/cultural background who is out in society, trying to change the often negative perceptions associated with us – still watching this discussion below gave me a slight shiver because while she has the power and capacity to try to make people understand that niqab like the hijab and like practicing the religion are ones own personal choice, instead she basis what she says on her own very obvious feelings of inadequacy and well “feelings”. All I have to say is she must have been made to feel like a “bad Muslim” by somebody during the course of her life all because she doesnt cover…which is ludacris…only Allah subhana wa ta’ala can decide who is a good person and who is a bad person but we should still all stick together as an Ummah, regardless when issues come up which affect how we practice our faith. Y’know…

My thoughts on this discussion are below the video.

Without a doubt, Sister Heba indeed “won” the argument based on logic alone.

First, I couldnt get over how Mona was basically basing everything she said on her own opinions and skewed life experiences. I got the feeling that SHE feels like she is mistreated and maligned by the Muslim community because of her very public role and not covering…so she in turn takes her frustrations out on women who do cover feeling that they make themselves invisible. Which is ludacris as Heba is very active online and in her community as a social activist!

~I found it funny she brought up Saudi…while yes many women there do niqab and probably dont want too…you know, the culture and society is 100% different from France or UK or USA…there it generally boils down to tribal and family honor – not even so much religious as you can easily discern who is wearing niqab for real religious reasons and who is not. Most women wear it because its considered the proper thing for a woman to do, it’ll be shameful if she doesnt. So says several religious Saudi women I was friends with (plus my own experiences in the country)

…But, then to say thats the experience of niqabi women in France, UK or USA is ludacris.

AND then she says about how making it a law will give those women who are “forced” the ability to stand up against their oppressors…and say this is the law…I cant do it. OK frankly…if a woman is truly being forced to wear it, no law is going to change her situation and if she has been told she’ll burn in the hell fire for not wearing it than a law wont change her thinking either, she will wear it regardless.

BUT, I frankly think that those above cases are a very small, small, small minority amongst all western Niqabis. All the niqabis Ive ever known have chosen it willingly based on their own feelings and desire to do so, many had to even convince their families to accept them wearing it!

Also…as far as the law goes…so they’ll either fine u or make u take a citizenship class or both. Which leads me to wonder…so like what if they fine a FRENCH woman who wears niqab…like a real French woman…someone whose family has always been in France with no outside origins…like how can they turn around and tell a Ms. Amelie Deroux (or whatever is a real French name) to attend citizenship classes and meanwhile her family is from Avignon from like 800AD. (I dont know French history/origins that well…so cut me some slack!)

Ah the stupidity of it all.

8 thoughts on “I don’t agree with Mona ElTahawy…

  1. Very good points! I do have to say that there was not”France” in 800AD, LOL, but nevertheless, you nailed it, Masha’Allah.

  2. salam ,” invisible” someone called me like this , but hey acctually this is the point i’m very visable with covering like this. I find the face is very tempting for men ,own expiriance some muslim men did still trying to flirt .And i did not give them any rason to do so , while wearing the short amira hijab.Now as i change to the algerian very modest khimar style overhead. And i made a point that i’m more covered as necessary and now no men look at me . I finde covering the face , is very important , but i’m not strong enouth , to do so my husband hate niqab , arguing that we not live in a muslim conntry here and that this would be to extrem , we had quite some disscussion about wearing it yes or no . I know i should not follow human rule, but it would affect all my family negative, and would this not be selfish and islam promote moderation and obidiance to the husband as well . And my algerian style cover is enough to keep men away :0 )

  3. Assalaam waliekum.
    Actually I could give a rat’s turd about what Mona has to say about Islam or anything in Islam. She is as undercover as can be yet she wants her little bit of time on Youtube to put herself on display plus talk about something she is either uneducated about or just utterly biased about. Insha’allah, if she was talking something that was correct, not based on “how she feels” then I would listen. I get very feed up with Muslims who dodge their religious obligations and have the nerve to justify their religious shortcomings with “how they feel”.

    May Allah SWT Guide the Muslims from such half-baked ideas about their deen.

  4. Salam sister,
    I agree with your thoughts on this video. Heba was much more clear with her arguments and much more polite, and, definitely presented herself as much more knowledgeable about the topic of face-covering and about Islam in general.

  5. Salamz-

    I’m continually surprised and dismayed by the continuing assumption that Muslimas- particularly ones that wear niqab- are all “foreign”! The new French laws targetting niqabis and insisting that they take citizenship classes reflects this stupidity. But the assumption of “foreignness” is present elsewhere, not just in France-thus the usual Islamophobic insult of “go back to your own country”! As a Western revert, born in America, whose ancestry dates back to the colonial period, I find such attitudes ridiculous and incredibly ignorant. I don’t personally wear niqab- only abaya and hijab- yet for many bigots even this is enough to demonstrate my supposed “foreigness”. Hmph! I guess it would be ok though if I had tribal tattoos, dreadlocks, and paraded around in public wearing bikinis and sarongs?! Then I could skip the citizenship classes, huh? Oh boy… sometimes I really think the world is going to hell in a hand cart, he he!

Comments are closed.