Scenting your garments with bakhoor!

So, yes, we all know I’m mildly obsessed with bakhoor (and perfume, muahahaha)…but this obsession is not just limited to myself but to my equally obsessed husband (who before going to Saudi seemed allergic to everything scented and smoky! LOL, oh what a Saudi Mall will do to you!). Anyway, curtosy of the brother that runs the Canadian based bakhoor shop Aluwwa. I learned the clothes basket trick for scenting your garments with bakhoor!

Ohh la la…when I saw that I started to get giddy. hehehe.

Basically what I knew of scenting ones garments with bakhoor was limited to either a-sticking the burning bakhoor or oud chips in your closet, under your clothing (safely, ofcourse) and shutting the door and letting it basically burn out. Voila…insta-pregnation of the scent into ones clothing. This tidbit of info came curtosy of my husband who pre-marriage had a Omani roomate who taught him this trick. (I really dont know how my husband handled that it as really my husband hated the incense and bakhoor before we went to Saudi)

or b…doing like what some 50yr old Qatifi, Saudi villager lady and mother of TWELVE!!!!  taught me by sticking it *gracefully* under your clothing. UM…I wont get more graphic than that, though at the time she showed me this trick I blushed and her daughter laughed at me. anyway.

ahem…I like this technique much, much better as it really gets the scent of the bakhoor into the garment intensely and it really, really stays. I did this with my 3 favorite modern chadors and wow…they still smell soooooooo good, even though Ive worn them out and about the past week. (note, Id probably not do this on anything too light colored or fine of fabric as it does release the oils of the bakhoor and they may get on the garment. But it worked well on my black, crepe modern chadors.

and

Note I actually dont own a clothes basket but I used a large stainless steel strainer which I overturned over a small plate and then several layers of tin foil and the charcoal and then the oud. I used bakhoor etisalbi for this and liked the lingering scent…its very, very strong and unisex. A favorite of mine. mashallah. JUST be careful if you use the strainer as the clothes are closer to the heat than using a laundry basket…like I checked often.

6 thoughts on “Scenting your garments with bakhoor!

  1. As salaam alaykum,

    So, does that mean that Aluwwa is a safe and secure place to order from? I’ve been looking for something like this as I ADORE Arab fragrances. Also, do you have any recommendations for bakhoors and where to buy them? I think we need more posts of the fragrant type.🙂

  2. asalaamu alaikum…I dont 100% know but it seems to be legit as I emailed the brother and inquired about a lot of their items and will eventually buy some Uunsi, en’shallah…seems to be legit. You can contact the brother yourself via the feedback form.

    Also, within the USA, you can get Swiss Arabian perfumes and bakhoors from a shop based outta Massachussets…Ive ordered from them several times…I love bakhoor bayt al arab…its a rose/oud scent…very very nice. The URL is -http://www.mukhalat.com/main.sc, the stuff comes soooo fast!! also u can email them and ask their recs. Swiss Arabian is a very nice, Khaleeji perfume/bakhoor company and they have shops everywhere so they are a real deal.

  3. Thank you! I’ve looked at their site for years and never had the nerve to order. Glad to know it’s legit.

  4. salam alikum , i finde this idea with the wash basket very smart , it did let me smile but i guess usefull🙂
    I’m not sure i did like the smoky smell but frinds told me that this is acctually shirk, because the muslim took it from the christian church,i’m not sure on that honestly i still burn frakencence sometimes i like the smell, other people was go so far to say it helps against jinn and bad spirt what i do not believe! Can anybody tell me something about the origin of this tradition and why muslim do it, because it is quite common in middle east special in oman and yemen there people even eat fracensise like lollys . Thanks

    • Frankly I dont see how your friend can think this?

      One-The burning of Bakhoor/Oud/Etc is a very, very, very ancient practice-like for example, Middle Easterners have always been burning wood chips and resins and everything else since-probably the dawn of humanity! Secondly, just because Catholics, or Jews or Christians or Hindus burn wood chips and resins doesnt mean its Shirk, its just a universal human practice which isnt limited to any one religious, ethnic or cultural group as it enrichs the atmosphere with nice smelling scents. Second-“shirk” means associating partners with Allah subhana wa ta’ala…and its really not good to go around and attribute whatever-x, y, z with “Shirk”…thats a pretty strong remark which needs actual proof, not just heresay. Even if she meant “bidah”…then thats also probably not true given the long history of burning woods and resins in the region.

      I highly suggest your friend inquire with a actual, reputed, Scholar of her madhab… seriously though, its really really really bad to go around and saying whatever, xyz, is Shirk, especially without any real proof…and using the fact that Churches burn bakhoor or whatever as proof is very very very weak.

      See what I mean…?

      • Also…I looked on several sites from several different madhabs but really couldn’t find anything directly related to incense or bakhoor (although I found quite a lot on perfumes)…anyway I did find this on IslamQ&A.

        So I typed in “bakhoor” in the search engine and hadeeths came up about perfuming the dead and using Bakhoor.

        “It was narrated that Jaabir said: The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “When you perfume the deceased with incense (bakhoor) then perfume him three times.” Narrated by Imam Ahmad, 14131. al-Nawawi said in al-Majmoo’ (5/155): Its isnaad is saheeh. It was also classed as saheeh by al-Albaani in Saheeh al-Jaami’, 278. ”

        So this for one is evidence that the early Muslims used Bakhoor/incense…this probably comes from the fact that its a ancient practice common to the region.

Comments are closed.