Personal gripe! Lack of hejab in the masjid!

asalaamu alaikum wr wb!

Honestly, let me all tell you something. Some of you may object and say I am some crazy fundie-LOL…but I just *have* to say it. I’m sure it won’t make a rats butt of a difference…

But…here goes.

Sisters…if your showing up at the masjid and your rump, hips, chest and half of ya arms are having out but you have a perfect scarf on ya head then guess what…serious shame on you!  I know, yes, I’m so mean. But frankly…this Ramadhan I am in shock and awe at all the half-nekkid hejabis who show up at the masjid for salaat, iftaar and taraweeh. Really…is it THAT hard to put on a shirt that covers you to your knees? That isnt SKIN tight, half or 3/4th sleeves or even better, a regular tight shirt to your hips with regular jeans?…but…a perfect scarf!

How is that even OK? How is that appropriate.  Your going to the MASJID…a place of prayer, of the deen! Yet your half nekkid with your curves out on holiday?  I dont personally believe hejab is worn because men can’t control themselves-no, they can, thats just a lame-o excuse…its for MODESTY (in general), to show the world that your a RELIGIOUS MUSLIM!! How can you show your a religious Muslim if every person can see your a size 10 with a large butt???

Please…tell me.

And it gets better, should you say anything, others who are equally half dressed rush to their aid saying, nah…its OK….and if you say something, “your the bad guy” your a “crazy fundie”.

Like tonight. A new Muslimah came in and asked me whether she could pray in her 3/4th length sleeves, butt length shirt and pants and a scarf. It was indeed fairly modest attire…but I personally ascribe to the typical Islamic rulings that hejab encompasses the entire ensemble and hence you must be covered in baggy attire to your wrists and down to your feet…and preferably an overgarment or something loose and baggy is prefered. I said, yes it’s pretty modest but suggested she put on a prayer skirt and khimaar to ensure her modesty and to ensure her attire is clean. Afterwards she came up to me, huffing how hot she was and said, but other women here have on sleeves to their elbows and short shirts…thats OK right? I really couldnt say much because at that moment some of them came over and said, yeah…its OK! Why make things hard for yourself?!?

I just dropped it…I was out numbered…in my long jelbab and chest covering maghneh…I was the odd goose in a sea of short shirts, quarter sleeves and jeggings with perfect scarves covering nothing!  I’m not saying this to say I’m perfect…I’m not. But I am very concerned about my hejab as its an outward extension of my faith for the world to see. Yes sometimes I wear a three-quarter length manteaus with wide legged, flowingpants, sometimes I wear a full length jelbab/pardesu or Algerienne jelbab or full abaya…but even if I wore a knee length manteau I would wear it with a skirt or those wide legged Shukr lengha pants and a big scarf covering everything. I would never knowingly go out with my shape exposed (atleast to my knowledge and best efforts!)…it defeats the purpose of hejab.

I just believe that OK…you wanna walk around the block half nekkid…whatever…its between you and your Rabb…its a shame, because it reflects badly on other Muslim women…but whatever…BUT coming to the masjid dressed like this…is really just bad and improper!! It is now adays EXTREMELY easy to find long, knee length tunics…even a maxi dress with a cardi and a decent sized scarf would suffice. I was in Target today and asw 2 different styles of calf and knee length shirt dresses in various colors and the material was heavy cotton, good quality…its NOT hard to find modest attire at all. Why the nekkidness? Especially to the masjid where you come to pray to your Lord???!!??

I dunno, this really upsets me and its not just me, tonight several sisters were discussing this as well and really its not appropriate.

Just to add as a postscript…whats up with all the scarf wearing Muslim women with fashion blogs who post pictures of themselves posing like they are super models sashaying down the run way for Gucci or something? I am finding it pretty redundant, over done and immodest and c’mon…do you really need to pose in such a fake manner to show off your tunic and jeans? C’mon…get with it.

15 thoughts on “Personal gripe! Lack of hejab in the masjid!

  1. Yes. Yes. YES! I dont care if someone wears the hijab or not, it’s their business, but if they decide to wear hijab, they should do it PROPERLY! None of this hair showing, forearms showing, etc. Drives me insane. I mean, my family isn’t Muslim and when they see other Muslim girls wearing tight clothes or whatever, they ask me why I don’t just dress like that because when they see that, they think it’s OK.

    • LOL…I know what you mean…also non-Muslims get a bad idea about Muslims…they think those of us who dress in proper hejab are somehow crazy, jacked up fundies who like to be miserably hot…LOL…while those running around half-nekkid are somehow more…”normal”…LOL…it esp irks me them then showing up for iftaar and taraweeh with their butt on hanging out and their shirts riding up, their arms exposed, their chests hanging out and no hayah at all…atleast bring a prayer outfit or wear one of the many that most masjids have laying around. UGH

  2. You are right, sis. It is so easy to get info on the computer, and to get appropriate, covering clothes – at least, at the Masjid, during Ramadan! I know that a lot of mosques have scarves available – do they have to start stocking abayas, also?

  3. salam alikum , i think some are just to busy pleaseing the other people with looking not to foreign in hijab and long dress,that they forget that muslim have the duty to please only the lord alone. All modern fashion trends who apeal mainly to young muslimah’s (pirate style hijab with legging jeans and big earring hanging out of the hijab) finding alot of follower’s. Telling them that this is not really modest you often get the answer ,” i’m not married like you i still need to look good to find a husband, how would i find one if i wear a sack like you “? Or , “when i’m old i wear Abaya like my mum “,”what you want i cover , i wear hijab”!
    I personally see a lot of sexy styled hijaby’s comeing in the Majid but they often take some large overhead who are in a box stored at the majid to wear them during pray , do you know what i often thought , i study with” this hijaby’s” who wear a lot of make up and noughty hijab they never make wudu! After a long day of study they go to pray with me in the Uni- Majid and never make wudu , this i find strange?!

  4. Assalaam waliekum. I can’t agree with you more. And I say: May Allah SWT Guide Muslimahs like that to the straight path. Ameen.
    I have compasion for new Muslimahs because they are still trying to learn the basics and upgrade their waredrobes. But those who been in the religion for a while, they know what the deal is.
    I don’t care if I’m called “old-fashioned” or “fundie”, at least I’m thriving not to be “astray”. Some Muslimahs get the Western term of modest mixed up with the Islamic term of modest, which are two very different things. To them a perfectly wrapped hijab, groin length blouse and a form showing skirt is modest. Yes, it is by Western standards but Islamic no.
    Because nobody should be able to recognize the “bones” that define a woman’s figure. I got the hadith that uses the term “bones” as meaning the bumps or contours that define a woman’s shape. Meaning when a Muslim woman wears her clothes, her shape should be concealed.
    Insha’allah I will look for that hadith.

  5. Ameen to Gail’s dua. At the very least people should be respectfully dressed in the masjid. That is very annoying to me. This is also a big struggle between my daughter and myself. As she is approaching the teen years and trying to define herself in this world she is bombarded with all sorts of islamic and not so islamic dress from other muslims. I sometimes think she too thinks I’m “too strict” and wants to know why she can’t “be normal” like the other muslim girls she sees. Then add into that our non muslim family who wants nothing more than for her to be like them. ARRRGGGHHH!! I’ve tried hard to instill a sense of hayaa in her so that the idea of modest dress would come naturally, but with all of the clothed yet naked styles around, it’s a tough act to follow. May Allah subhana wa ta’ala guide us all and keep us on the straight path, ameen.

  6. salaamu alaikum…I wanted to add that as far as the newly converted sister goes…I had wanted to kind of give her a brief overview of proper Islamkic dress-nothing too out there-just long pants, long shirts, long sleeves, curves covered…but alas, at that mo’ I was busy with trying to finish my own salaat and deal with my son who was trying to grab a bowl of dates…LOL…so I felt like I wasnt able to really sit and talk with her, ebfore the half-nekkid and its oK crew grabbed her up. I remember it used to be that sisters would give advice to the new converts to born Muslims who are now trying to practice and yes, dress and attire would be one such topic. Its obviously NOT the most important…but as I mentioned above im a strong believer in hejab is an outward extension of ones faith and it is disrepectful towards your Rabb and your self to go out in such attire. Y’know.

    I just feel bad for her…now shes gonna have a skewed sense of what hejab is…

  7. Selam aleykum! Umm Ibrahim! Ramadan Karim.

    I love your blog especially all of the cultural posts. I think proper hijab is a huge issue here in the U.S. I know we all have our faults and sometimes it is difficult depending on the situation to always be dressed appropriately, but I would think that women at the masjid would try their very best to be completely covered. A few nights ago I was invited to attend a Shia masjid in a neighboring city. I was unpleasantly surprised at the women there. I mean, mashaAllah, they were beautiful. But many girls had on tight, small shirts and loose scarves with hair showing and POUNDS of makeup on. Some women even completely removed their scarves in the masjid, subhanAllah. I couldn’t believe it! The older ladies seemed to be clad in chador (which I love), but these younger ones… ah! I couldn’t help sometimes but staring; it was just odd to me.

    I know when I first converted I really struggled because I had NO clothes that were modest or appropriate. Even my long sleeved shirts had deep vnecks. So some sisters gave me their old clothes, mashaAllah, until I was able to save money for abaya! I can clearly understand that not everyone is fortunate, but idk… wear a sheet or a trashbag or something lol.

    Ws,
    Kristin

  8. Ameen to the du’a. I recently went to a conference of who would be considered a very strict group of Muslims, and other conferences I have been to organised by them the majority of sisters were appropriately attired, anyhoo regardless of who was running it you’d expect sisters coming to an Islamic conference to be coming for the ‘ilm and not because its an opportunity for an impromtu fashion show, boy was I shocked. A very large percentage of the sisters under 25 were dressed in blingy abayas with loosely wrapped shaylahs showing half their neck and hair, shaylahs with huge flower clips underneath that gave them an alien head, maxi dresses that were tight at the top with tight tees under, tight jeans, you name it…call me grandma if you like but it was very rare to see this type of thing in any masjid or conference ‘in my day’, and that was the late 90s when general fashions were short and tight and ready-made Islamic clothing was hard to come by; most cities didn’t have one Islamic clothing store and none of these internet Islamic clothing sites existed-still sisters managed to dress far more appropriately than now. I love the whole ‘an overgarment is too hot’ thing as well; in my humble opinion, its certainly much cooler than wearing 3 or 4 layers of tight clothing as is the fashion now…

  9. One wouldn’t think it would be too hard to keep an extra jilbab or abaya in the car for occasions like that.That’s one reason I Like the hip length khimars,its a good garment to put on top of something else that might not be appropriate to wear for prayer in a masjid.

    wsalaam,

  10. I was very sad to read that post. When I first converted to Islam I was a healthy size to say the least and could not find an abaya that fit for anything. I wanted sooo Bad to go to masjid so I wore what I had most sisters understood and were very supportive and pointed me to east essence… who sell the larger size. Until it arrived I wore regular jeans, long sleeved shirts and hijab. Had a sister not been open and nice enough to ask me why i didn’t wear abaya I could still be the topic of discussion after Friday prayers. You never know the reason behind some one actions if you don’t ask. Instead of talking about it online, why dont all of us go and speak to the sister who does not dress proper? Maybe some of them have no idea, maybe some are in the same situation as I was. Ramadan is a time of peace and understanding, One would think we would all remember that.

    • wa salaam…good point…but the majority of these Muslimaat are like a size zero, skinny little things who purposely layer on the makeup, skin tight jeggings, butt length skin tight shirts, perfect hejab and also walk in a way so their butts and hips swing…its very “come hither”…not at all appropriate for the masjid. several nights ago before taraweeh I got out a bunch of the masjids prayer skirts and handed them to 3 girls…they refused to take them…they knew they couldnt pray in their immodest attire and didnt care.

  11. Assalaamu alaikum Megan,

    I totally understand what you’re saying. I too didn’t have the best clothing when I first reverted to Islam, and I did get comments from some people. Ironically the only person who actually helped was a sister in Malaysia who graciously bought me my first jilbab mashallah. 10 years later I still talk to her. May Allah subhana wa ta’ala reward her for her kindness, ameen.

    UmmIbrahim however is not talking about sisters who are struggling to find the right clothing or who are new in the deen and still learning what’s okay and what’s not. She’s talking about the population who clearly knows better. For example at our masjid last year we had a sister’s halaqah at the end of Ramadan about modest dress and appropriateness in the masjid and particularly on the eids. Some of the sisters still after the halqah refused to take the sister’s sincere advice on what NOT to wear :-\

    This isn’t to say you can never look made up or dress fancy, but do it in the appropriate time and place. In mixed company at the masjid is not that place and surely Allah subhana wa ta’ala knows best.

  12. LOL sis,

    OMG you are my twin i think soooooo much like you. You are iranian and i am Moroccan.
    Subhanallah there is a lot that is wrong. I see this too but alhamdulillah the Imam told the parents dont allow your kids to come to jammah with jeggings, and the like. And alhamdulillah has worked.
    So i guess tell the imam sis. Let him do a khutba on it, and speak with the fathers.

    As the prophet SAW said to the muslimah who wore perfume going to the masjid, he told her to go home, shower and wash it off then come back. So perhaps the imams need to stop these girls from entering and tell them go home change then come back. Now that would be AMAZING!

    Same on Eid, sisters come in their best eid clothes which is sparkly and spangley… and finsihed off nicely with a face full of caked on makeup. lots of chalky looking faces, eyes lined thickly with khol/eyeliner and red cheeks, red lips and cakey faces that have just be freshly iced with makeup.

    When i go to the masjid i go with a tiny amount of concealer around the eyes. THATS IT!. I wouldnt dream of ever going to masjid looking like i was ready for wedding or night club. lol.
    totally wrong and the hadith of the prophet SAW clearly states that too. Masjid for prayer its not a fashion runway, or cat walk or a palce to pick up people.
    People have wrong intention when going to the mosque now.
    May Allah forgive them and guide them, ameen

Comments are closed.