Mohajabaat hair care

It really doesn’t matter what hair type you have, be it curly, kinky or straight, fine or thick, black, blonde, brown or henna red! Wearing a scarf on your head with any regularity can really take its toll on the health of your hair!  I know some sisters complain of “hejab hair” where the hair which was fully, bouncy and soft before getting dressed for the day becomes dry, matted, flat and just yucky looking after walking in the door and whipping the scarf off after a long day at work or school or whatever. Others complain it makes their hair even more difficult to manage that “it stands straight up!”. Whatever it may be, really, after any length of time, you will indeed notice a change in your hair.

But, like…what to do?

I personally struggle with this and so does every other mohajabah sister I know! Who wants to look like a flat, matted mess once they are back at home!?

I dunno…but anyway, im hoping this post can start a dialogue amongst my readers with tips and tricks that they use to combat the  “dreaded” hejab head.

On my end, here are a few things I’ve picked up over the years that Ive covered…also these problems aren’t unique to us. Christian and Conservative Jewish women who cover face similar problems along with women who for whatever reason always wear kerchifs because the front of the hair tends to break easily.

So here goes… Some tips/tricks Ive picked up over the years.

1) Fabrics;

Seriously, this is something that Black sisters have known for ever…some fabrics just wreck your hair! Because sisters of African (or mixed) ancestry *tend* to have very dry, brittle hair-naturally, choice of fabrics can make or break you. Even if you dont have dry brittle hair or are not of African ancestry, it still matters!

Personally Ive found that pure silk is *the best* for your hair, it is natural, its soft, its smooth and it breaths…unfortunately one downside to silk is that it tends to move a lot when worn (this is why Turkish women are known for being pin-fiends with their hejabs, because they put in like 3-5 or more just their scarves stay intact! LOL). If your hair is really breaking, try wearing a silk scarf alone (if you can) or buying some cotton muslin fabric (the very thin, sheer, wide weave kind) and using that as an impromptu underscarf.

Also thin cotton scarves are good as well. I love the very light cotton scarves from Malaysia and the thin, Turkish Oya scarves, when the wind blows you can *feel* the wind reaching your scalp. Its even better if you wear it over a thin, muslin fabric wrapped as an underscarf.

The worst is polyester and ofcourse satins! I wear them…because they are convenient, don’t fade, dont wear quickly and are easy to wash…but really, they make your scalp sweaty , icky and yes…smelly! ugh!

2) This leads me to underscarves…in times when I have serious problems with dryness, breakage and other ravages I really do find that wearing a thin, open-weave muslin fabric (or even a Turkish oya scarf) as my underscarf works best…also just wearing a narrow headband-like the cheapo kinds, can find anywhere…CVS, Target, Walmart, whatever…like $3 bucks, come in a pack, as my underscarf helps too because it anchors my scarf at the front, around my hairline but then the rest of my head can…breath!!!

Yes, those bone ones are nice because they cover all of the head, as do the Ameera tube underscarves but they really  can wreck your hair, especially your hairline!!!

3) Keeping hair up 24/7, yes i’m guilty of this…I’m busy (like we all are!) and having a child or children makes this tendency even worse…who really comes home and has tons of time to lavish on their hair? uh, no one unless you have a maid and a nanny and God knows what else! Most of us keep our hair up 24/7…this is BAD!!! Ive found it necessary to keep hair loose at night while sleeping and after washing I  try to let it *air dry* loose… Another good idea is unless your sebaceous glands are runnin’ wild…not washing hair daily can help to combat some dryness problems. Another bad idea is washing and then runnin’ out the door, putting a scarf over wet, pulled back hair! yuck…I wont even go there with how nasty and uncomfortable that feels and it can be quite unhealthy!

4) Hair products! Okay, I’m not big on putting a ton of stuff on my hair, but there are 2 hair products I do find which work for me and help to keep things looking decent, even with being up and covered all day.

A few hair serums/creams which I liek and work for me are…

1) Argan oil

Yeah, apparently Argan oil has become really trendy for hair and skin conditions, but I got into using Argan oil in Saudi and have continued using it here. One downside I found to Argan oil is it can feel heavy and greasy if you have thin hair. I like to use it as a weekly masque where I put it on and wrap my head up overnight and then rinse out in the morning.

For a more stay-in sort of daily (when I wash) serum, I like the Organix LIGHT Moroccan Argan oil. Its not pure Argan oil but it does have some in it and I like how its *not* greasy on the hair or scalp. I find it absorbs almost instantly into the hair and is weightless. Ive found it at Ulta and its not very expensive.

Another thing I like to use (although not as regularly-maybe 4 times a year) is Sedr…Iranian colorless henna. Its not real henna, but its from a similar shrub and has no color but its excellent at conditioning the hair and scalp. I dont know where to find it in the US as I buy mine when I am in Iran, but probably most Persian, Afghani and maybe general Middle eastern markets have it. I’m wary of using the commercial “colorless henna” which you can get at some places like Whole Foods cuz I really dont know if its really sedr…ya’know. I put it in as thought I am going to henna my hair (overnight) and I find the conditioning affects tend to last for atleast 1 month and for atleast another month after I can still feel/see a difference.

So now, I hope en’shallah my readers will share their tips/tricks about how to combat and handle the dreaded “hejab hair” problems which all of us who cover face.

17 thoughts on “Mohajabaat hair care

  1. Asalaamu Alaikumm

    Just yesterday at walmart I saw argan which I never saw in my life before and it was by Live Well and it costs 9 bucks for a tiny little bottle. Hmm….should I invest?

    • I dunno, it depends on your hair texture and everything. Like regular Argan oil is very heavy on my hair but I like it for a weekly or twice monthly hair pack where I wrap my head up overnight and let it soak in, but daily…no way, id be a greaseball. but so women with coarse hair, thick hair, you know…it works good on them. If you have thin hair or fine hair I do think something thats lighter and made for fine or thin hair…there are many diff products Ive seen online, but inrl Ive seen and used the Organix light stuff…i find it soaks in and gets absorbed and doesnt leave my hair greasy or weighed down. So rilly it depends…but if you think you’d really use it…even as a weekly hair pack overnight…it may be a worthy investment. A little goes a lonnnggg way. Also the real stfuf can be used on facial and body skin as a moisturizer…but only the real stuff, 100% pure stuff….unless you find some commercially produced as a skin moisturizer.

      • BTW if you look on Ebay you can find larger bottles of pure Argan oil from wholesalers…if you plan to use it a lot, i’d get a larger amount, it’ll be cheaper and maybe *pure-er*…I dunno.

    • LOL, I havent the foggiest clue but its not even available here in the US as far as I know so i probably wouldnt worry. *wink*

  2. I haven’t heard of argan before. In Korea I can get some hair serums that seem to work pretty well, if I use them occasionally.

    • Yeah I also have Dove hair serum, you mentioned before having it in S. Korea…its nice but a bit too oily for my hair texture. hence why I like Argan and esp the LIGHT Argan oil from Organix. Its fairly weightless and my hair sucks it up.

  3. Ugh I hate hijab hair. My hair line definately suffered after wearing hijab 24/7 when I lived with my in-laws (I wore it sometimes when I slept)😦 I have dry, very thick but not heavy long hair. Before I wore hijab I washed my hair 1x/week and I blow-dried it if it got oily inbetween. Blowdrying the correct way can help a lot. It’d look like I just washed it… Now I have had to change everything. I have to wear my hair in a tight bun with 2-3 hair ties or it comes out😦 This makes my hair crumply of course and I will need to wash it more, which isn’t great for my dry hair. I have two kids under 2 so it’s hard to let it down! I’ve been doing it for 2 weeks though and havent blow dried, plus switched to washing only after work outs, and my hair has gotten so much better just from that. I can’t wait to try the argan oil and maybe inshAllah the sedr if I can find it! Wish I could share more tips:/

  4. I agree about the ‘cotton’ bone undercaps and tube scarves (in reality usually scratchy polycotton with scratchy nylony thread stitching) but the newer satin fronted type are much better, I have switched to these entirely now as they are just such an improvement-I have even been able to grow my hair below shoulder length for the first time in 10 years and keep a fringe (bangs). I have two types, one fashioned like the typical ‘bone’ and one more like a loose swim cap but with a little tie at the nap of the neck that makes it a tad bit adjustable; and also the tie bit is good to put your ponytail or braid through to keep it in place, I prefer the one that is like the traditional bone but the other one is considerably better than normal bones/tubes also. The new types are fronted in a really nice stretch satin fabric, it is synthetic but aside from the really cheapo ones; its a non-static, fine textured satin, and the rest of the ‘bone’ is made from a microfibre stretch fabric with non scratchy stitching. I have a very sensitive scalp and tried so many shampoos etc as I kept itching when wearing hijab; I then realised it was all down to the underscarves.

    • Hmmm, interesting…I do have 2 satin fronted “bone” underscarves which I bought via France…they are eh-OK, but are the cheapo kind. I find they make my forhead sooo hot and sweaty. Are the kind your refering too those nice Firdavs kind? I remember seeing those in Makkah for like 40sr and wanted to buy but then was like…uh, i rarely wear satin. LOL.

  5. Yep the firdevs kind; there is also one ‘knock off’ brand they sell here that made theirs in the more traditional bonnet looking style; that are the same quality as the firdevs. Wow 40 riyal, in the UK they cost anything from £2-£4, so about 7-14 saudi riyal. There is one seller on uk ebay doing 4 for £6 but am not sure if they are genuine firdevs ones for that price so am going to order one and check it out. As for the firdevs ones; I learnt today that as well as being comfy they are indestructable; I put the washing machine on a 90 degree wash to wash some towels and dishcloths; only to remember afterwards that my firdevs purple satin bonnet was in there. I do always machine wash them without any issue; and machine washing is the only way to get rid of oils from my skin etc that can cause spots. Thankfully when I got it out the colour from the microfibre jersey part had run a little bit making all my cloths a weird orangey colour but the whole thing itself was completely fine and intact.

    • Yeah and in Khobar they were being sold for like 80sr in upscale abaya shops! LOL! I dunno why they are soo expensive there but as you know, underscarves honestly arent worn much by Saudi women because a lot of the black crepe ones are fairly grippy and if your wearing niqab, why bother…so its mostly expats who buy them or Saudi women going abroad and who will wear diff scarves. I dunno, but im glad I didnt get any there. LOL…indestructible eh…cool…I may get a few.

      • hmm it appears from the product picture on the ebay item, as I saw it on another site, that they are akel not firdevs, I think I will still give them a try though, especially since the same ones are sold on hijabplanet, maybe I’m wrong but as they sell pricey silk scarves surely they’d only be selling decent underscarves to go with them?

      • I personally have bought from HIjabPlanet a few times and was always quite pleased and Akel is a very high quality Turkish scarf company. I have 2 Akel “casual satin” scarves…I reckon the Akel underscarves would be good too!
        Note I cant wait till sis Edibe in Australia reopens her hejab store because she sold the Turkish scarves and bonnets too and she’s awesome.
        Lemme know how it goes…

  6. Since I’m going to be describing my hair, I’m going a little incognito for this comment. I have fragile (not brittle) very tightly curled hair. I found that if I add a some oil (I prefer coconut as it’s light, smells good and absorbs beautifully)all over the hair and then gently brush it back and put it in a sock bun , then tie an old silk scarf over it and put hijab on top of that, when I remove hijab my hair looks very neat. This style is hijab and wudu friendly and there are a lot of variations so that you don’t place a lot of stress on the hairline. If your silk underscarf slips a lot, then use bobby pins on either side of your hair behind your ears to keep it in place, and don’t tie it so tightly that you stress your hairline. Also, if you decide to wear your hair down, the sock bun gives it a cute little flip that can be especially pretty with bangs or even hair that is just a little shorter in the front than the back. I think a lot of us need to rediscover braids and buns which can withstand wudu and a lot of on/off hijabing and protects the hair from the stresses of regular combs and brushes. Braided styles for women are traditional to peoples whose hair types include every hair type on earth, so it’s easy to find styles that work for your hair type.

  7. Just wanted to say I tried the organix conditioner and it rocks🙂 Love the smell too! Thanks for the rec, I will def get the shampoo as well…

Comments are closed.