Autumn appears to be upon us!

I don’t quite know whether to be happy or sad but it seems as though Fall/Autumn is upon us here on this end of the USA. On one hand I am sad to see the heat and SUN of summer go, but am kind of looking forward to those crisp, clean aired fall days. Although I do dislike the excessive rain we tend to get here but hey, what can ya do…other than move to someplace like Arizona!

This post is going to be just a musing post…I finally got a chance after my Nursing class to pick up a fresh bag of Turkish style coffee. I love the stuff and have always drank it, although I’m really picky about which kind to brew. No offense to the Cafe Najjar lovers but I am not a huge fan of the Lebanese produced coffee because its a bit too acidic tasting, I prefer clean and smooth for Turkish-style coffee. My favorite brand is this Bosnian one below…its very strong but mellow and smooth. I prefer it for a midafternoon coffee break.

20111003-174935.jpg

These little Turkish sweets are a fave of my son…they are Marshmallow (yes, halaal!) covered in chocolate with a cookie base.

20111003-175112.jpg

The finished coffee…as you can see, I dont have a huge foamy top, thats because it’s just me drinking it and well, I really can’t be bothered making it all fancy if its just for me or la familia. y’know.

20111003-175122.jpg

On a slightly funny coffee related side-note, over Ramadhan I got into the habit of taking my trusty ibrik and a bit of coffee to the masjid and then after ftoor/iftaar going and brewing a tiny pot in the kitchen. I had this relatively new sister to the masjid from Jordan come up to me astounded that I knew how to brew this type of coffee and assumed -hastily and very wrongly that I *must* be married to a Levantine Arab or something and thats how I learnt to brew coffee this way. LOL, I admit, her erroneous belief irked me as rather presumptive because she apparently didnt realize that coffee made like this is popular all the way from South Central Europe down through the Middle East, Turkey and even into Iran. In some places its made regularly while in others solely for special occasions. I had to educate her on this matter and my showing her the Bosnian coffee bag sort of cemented it.  Ah, presumptions are NOT cool! Just incase anyone is curious, I learnt to make coffee like this from my grandmother, so…yeah.

Onto non-food related things…today I bust out my bright turquoise closed front, gown style abaya I had made at Bedoon Essm in Khobar. Its sooo bright and cheery and was great because the weather was soooo cold and grey and rainy! ugh! Ofcourse, I’m casual so I paired it with gray sneakers, a gray hoodie and a gray crepe shaylah also from Bedoon Essm. For some odd reason the shaylah looks mauve-ish in the picture. Go figure.

I wish it was possible to get Bedoon Essm abayaat online but at last check, nope, ah well. I do highly recommend them, their decorated designs are a couple hundred $ a pop but their plain blacks and coloreds are VERY reasonably prices at $100 and under and they often would have sales on colored abayaat in the spring (cuz many Saudi women going abroad for travel or school buy or get made colored abayaat). But yeah, their quality and everything is really top notch. mashallah.

20111003-175133.jpg

Now that its cold, Ive been digging out the heavy gear and this was my outfit yesterday. Actually its a thin wool poncho with Persian-esque florally hand embroider20111003-175144.jpgy. Its just a huge square with a fringed edge and it hits around knee in the front and calves on the sides with side seams. These were all the rage about 3-4 years ago in Iran, when I went in 2008 they were everywhere and were really inexpensive. I wish I had snapped up another in a brighter color, but no…I love it though, In wear it with a brown shaylah, black undershirt and a black skirt or black Shukr lengha pants. Very comfy and suitable for those cold, RAINY early fall days. And yes, our falls are extremely wet and rainy and i tend to stick to 3/4th length stuff on those days because who wants their jilbab or abaya dragging on the street sopping up rainwater? Snow…I dont mind, but rain…eww…yes.

20111003-175151.jpg

20111003-175206.jpg


8 thoughts on “Autumn appears to be upon us!

  1. I’m a big coffee drinker of various kinds since my high school days when I worked at a local coffee chain. I learned to make the Turkish style coffee some years ago but rarely make it at home because my husband is not really a fan of that style although occasionally I look at my pot and think of buying a small bag for myself, lol.

  2. Cute outfits!🙂

    Its funny how some people think that certain things are only from a certain culture—-like brewing coffee. I ran out of milk the other day, so I made black cowboy coffee, like my parents used to make, and my husband was like “Yay! Tuareg coffee!”

    • LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL…yeah, like hello…its Coffee, just because culture X makes it one way doesnt mean thats the ONLY culture that makes it. hehehe, Its like if you show up at the masjid in a Jordanian jilbab those who dont know you and are new to the masjid assume you *MUST* be married to a Jordanian…I’m always like LMAO, whatever…jilbabs like coffee like abayaat like hejabs are everywhere, no one culture has sole ownership over it!

      I’m laughing at your black cowboy coffee, yeah, wow…i cant do that, cept with the Turkish style stuff…otherwise, nooo way! I just wont drink coffee.

    • really…hahahaha, khahesh mikonam…LOL…actually I like messing around with the picture apps on my ipod touch…I like the more artsy feel. Btw r u still in Afghanistan? I actually have that book for the kidlet, Ibi…its really cute, mashallah.

  3. Those ‘cocomel’ are actually a direct copy of a traditional British sweet from the early 20th century, Turkish brands have copied a lot of our traditional teatime treats, not very original but at least they are making halal versions eh?😀

    • I decided to check out the original British version of these as it said on wiki their main importer is Saudi, so obviously they’d need to be halal! I then found out the original has Italian meringue; which is gelatine free, and not marshmallow although it is very similar. I had been avoiding the tunnocks teacakes for years for no reason, noooooooooooooooooo!

Comments are closed.