J’adore mon Jelbab

If your a long-time reader of my blog you know I have a mild obsession for the French/Algerian overhead jelbab…i.e. its like an overhead but “different”…if your a newbie to my blog and are confused…read on (or read my archives!)

anyway, its next to impossible finding pictures of how the overhead jelbab style is worn amongst sisters in France (or western Europe) and since they are basically unheard of on this end of the Atlantic, I wanted to cull together some pictures to show styles of how they are worn. I wear the 3 I have at least several times a week and then swap out with my everyday comfy jilbabs (the shoulder style) or abayaat and a nice scarf. Some perks though to the French/Algerian jelbab style are several…

-they cover your awrah and curves VERY well!

-they are actually comfortable and dont pull on the head

-can be worn with a cardie or a hoodie or a jacket very easily…and yes they still cover the awrah and covers well! All you do is push up the sleeves…voila.

-They come in colors and about a bazillion different fabrics! There are 1-2 sisters I know who do know about them, but they only know about the kind in peachskin and in their minds they think they are very staticy and hot. Actually…they come now in a huge assortment of different crepe materials and weights from saloona, internet to light crepe, thick crepe, koshibi, microfiber and yes…peachskin!

-there is nooo need for an extra scarf…pop on, tie and go. Mashallah. They cover the chin and the sides of the face. Works great for a niqabi as well as a regular mohajabat. (I dont wear niqab and they work well for me!)

-They come as either one piece-from head to feet or two pieces, head to knees and then a matching skirt. You can ofcourse switch it up…but the 2 piece ones are very nursing friendly!

-They come with an attached bandana or a separate bandana.You can tie the ties under the jelbab behind your head or outside, around the outside of the head…

Anyway…onto some pictures. I did a post several months ago showing the layering of these French/Algerian jelbabs with a cardie or hoodie to add some style to the desig. One other perk to this is, if you dont like things being very puffy or something, a jacket/cardie/hoodie tends to reign it in, while still keeping everything well covered in flowing fabric!

Anyway Ive since found some more pictures showing them being worn with a cardi or a jacket or even a vest…

Generally these jelbabs come with either full sleeves or batwing, the full sleeved ones work with the cardie/jacket/hoodie and still allow the fabric to puff out over the chin, chest, awrah on both side of the body. Most of the bands have elastic in the cuffs so you can either leave them down or push them up. Others come with straight sleeves, although the elastic ones are most common.

Here is a picture I recently took, the jelbab is purple and I have on a dark purple hoodie.

You can get all “dolled up” in them too…lol

(yes, a swishy black jelbab complete with faux fur/leather vest and street cred hand signs...)

Apparently some other trends which are going on in France with the jelbab style right now…are well, ones I’m not soo keen on…but first some of the nicer jelbab trends…

Its apparently very “trendy” to wear the jelbab up not just covering the chin but all the way to the bottom of the lips! The face peeps out, but there is well…less of it! I personally am not a huge fan of the style, simply because its kind of uncomfortable (I’ve tried it!)…I just cover up to my chin with them. I’m kinda unsure how that style became soooo popular. ??

Another style…this one I do like is layered headbands with the jelbab. I think it adds a nice splash of color… I usually try to have a contrasting headband under the jelbab!

Hmm…now some not so cool trends…

One is trying to achieve as large of a head as possible with these…it seems like quite a few sisters wrap large turbans under their jelbabs so they get a large head. Now, one one hand, I think if you have very thin hair and it lays flat against the head, yeah you get a turtle head which can look a bit strange, so personally I’m not adverse to wearing two scrunchies under mine which gives me less of a turtle head, but by scrunchie, I do mean scrunchie…not some massive thing…but to do a huge turban is well…just a bit alienish. Its funny how Abaya trends have trickled down to jelbab trends…

and if you want more proof…here r some screenshorts of two French Muslimat at a conference, one sister has her jelbab down with the bandana ties around her neck (so the jelbab fits like a shoulder style garment) and the large turban showing…

then, gulp…another which I find utterly shocking and well, when I first saw it in some pictures I couldnt believe it…but then I said, well duh…ofcourse, cuz teenagers will be teenagers and so ofcourse they would take something which is on one hand kinda trendy (which yes the jelbab style is indeed trendy in France right now) and yet extremely modest and well covering (hello, how many times do you get a mohajabat trend which is both “cool” and fully awrah covering?! um…rarely!!! mashallah) and then they took that style but then pair it with those stupid, nasty skinny jeans/jeggings to basically nastify something awesome and covering.

See below…I’m sure you’ll be shocked too. Its seems like they are taking the top piece from a 2 piece jelbab set and wearing it as a combo scarf and tunic over silly skinnies…with ofcourse a large head! Ya Rabb…heavens forbid they actually wear a darn skirt or something that covers their bottom half! from the head to the waist…mashallah…the awraat is covered…yet from the waist to the feet…they are half nekkid and definetly not covered.

!!

Personally im not adverse to wearing the top half of a 2 piece jelbab set with a pair of those extremely wide legged, lengha pants from Shukr as they look skirt-like but less skirt-ish hassle…you know. Or these girls could just wear the full length, one piece jelbab so they could still wear their cursed skinnies but their awrah would remain covered! really…its NOT hard!

anyway, as I regain my composure…LOL

I wanted to throw in this picture too…its kinda funny, apparently there are quite a few French Muslimaat who are straight up ghetto and post rather interesting pictures of themselves…such as this one below. I love the whole “click click boom et salam alaikum” thing…LOL…others I saw read like “Khadijah c’est le street…” or “Le beats of Dr. Dre”. Ahh the bliss of glorifing gang culture…ahem.

…and I’m very pleased to announce, I now carry these overhead jilbabs both 1-piece, 2-piece overhead jilbabs and the long khimaar style on my site Allzons.com! Do check it out, en’shallah.

12 thoughts on “J’adore mon Jelbab

  1. Wow- you must have read my mind, Sis! Thanks for this post- I’ve had no luck finding images of sisters on the street wearing jilbab al atlas, only images from sites selling them. I’ve been longing to own one myself since I saw a young woman wearing one on a trip to Algeria a few years ago. I asked her where she bought it, only to find out that she made it herself! Unfortunately, my sewing skills are not up to the task. Maybe in future when I’m not so strapped for cash I’ll actually own one. Until then, I will content myself with pictures and *sigh*- I think they’re perfection!

  2. LOOOL…figures, my French is blah, I can read it OK but, conjugate or speak it…forget it. Hey, its no worse than saying “c’est le street”…LOL…shouldnt it be “c’est le rue”. Yanks and French…just dunt go together! I shall fix though…LOL
    LOL

    actually sister there r several jelbab brands…not just Al Atlas, there is El Bassira which by far seems to be the most popular in France. W Europe, then Al Manassik (sp?) and some smaller labels like Al Moultazimoun or Hejaby, i’m sure there r more and many sisters also make and sell for income as well. Actually they arent too expensive really, en’shallah once we get them, contact me, maybe we can work something out. OK. I know, I really, really, really do adore mine! They r sooo comfy and look really nice all while covering everything properly…no hassles…mashallah

  3. well honestly its gonna be my husbands business venture, not mine…I’m a Nursing Student and thats enough stress, hassle and time sucking away so I wont really have much to do with the business, although I will en’shallah handle customer inquiries from sisters about the mohajabaat clothing and am going to be choosing the sisters attire, but everything else he’ll handle. LOL.

  4. As I’ve mentioned before this type of jilbabs and two piece sets are popular with mainly Somali sisters here; but yes the Algerian and Moroccan sisters do wear them, as well as most European reverts here(as in originally from Mainland Europe, not the UK). It seems a lot of the ones worn by the Somali sisters come from the UAE, it seems the story is that Somali ex-pat sisters got sick of the traditional ‘no hands’ very long khimars and while there was a trend for wearing a shaylah over those, some sisters still found them cumbersome so some small businesses in the UAE started making the sleeved type khimars and completely closed overheads with tiebacks, the styles from both North Africa and the UAE over here have become virtually identical over time and so you’ll get the North African sisters buying the UAE versions and vica versa-though IMHO the North African versions look like they are of better quality-the UAE ones don’t seem to have as much give in them. The UAE ones have also evolved into like you posted about the other week; like a cuffed khimar but that is worn on the shoulders not on the head. I haven’t seen the tight jeans and ‘top piece’ look as depicted but I could believe it, I have seen though young sisters in Birmingham wearing the completely closed, up to the chin one-piece version of it with their bangs out and styled, alien big heads, tons of jewellery, and a jacket over etc. Maybe its the case that as before some parents would be ok as long as their daughter wore a khimar (as in scarf) outside; now some parents are insisting their daughters wear the half-jilbabs at least but neglecting what their daughters are wearing under it.

  5. I’m so happy when I see sisters wearing these in Morocco…mash’Allah they’re so elegant (and alhamdolillah they all wear them properly…no horrid skinnies)! Some sisters here will even put the top half over a djellaba…it’s a very unique look. Perhaps I might try them out and get a couple tailored when I’m further along in my pregnancy…the only problem is that people here seem to have the idea in their heads that once you wear the khimar, you must ALWAYS wear a khimar…no switching back and forth between shoulder abayas/djellabas and large, chest covering shaylas (what I normally wear) and the khimar. Cultural attitudes can be so off-putting sometimes -_-‘

  6. Assalaamu alaikum sis,

    Seriously when your hubby gets the business up and running please let me know inshallah. I’ve been reading every post of yours regarding these jelbabs but can’t be bothered with the hassle of overseas shipping right now. I’ve been looking for something more covering (and different) and love the layered look when you put a sweater over it mashallah. I think I might actually get my daughter to wear it at least to the masjid, lol.

  7. They’re gorgeous!! You definitely have a customer here ^_^ good luck with your last few weeks inshallah🙂

    • Salam aleikom, I decided to buy sewing machine and make those wonderful 2 piece jilbabs myself . Very easy and cheap! Lhamdulila!
      This is the best hijab I ever had and very beutiful.

  8. salamu aleykum,

    sister if you love those jilbabs so much , i know a nice french sewingforum where you can see many, many jilbabs and also tutorials on how to sew them, I’m a member there too and i really love it mashAllah, it is only for sisters:
    http://www.lescousettes.com/

    as there where some men wanting to get in the forum they do now check via skype, phone or msn if you are really the person who registered.
    InchAllah “see” you there…!

Comments are closed.