“Hejab is a protection”

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

(Iranian girl holding up a sign that says "Hejab is a Protection")

This is just a collection of photos I culled from a few different Iranian news services…all are inspiring, showing how beautiful proper hejab can be! I really dont understand why Muslim women shy away from proper hejab and instead go for skinny jeans and short shirts!

Ive noticed many Iranian sites are now promoting hejab “as a protection”…its on signs and websites. Personally, I do not cover because its a “protection”…but for reasons of modesty and faith. I dislike the belief that covering somehow makes you safe from harrassment or anything like that. Ive experienced harrassment in Saudi AND Iran and I can tell you, no amount of chador OR abaya stopped it! So I dont really buy into the whole hejab as a protection because men cant lower their gaze or whatever like that or that hair sends vibes which can cause earthquakes (yes some individuals have actually said this to me!). No, it remains a sign of modesty (both genders have their own form of hejab) and religious faith and a sign that you are a Muslim and hence do not engage in certain behaviors!

9 thoughts on ““Hejab is a protection”

  1. Yeah, I definitely disagree with the idea of hijab being “protection”. I personally don’t like the modesty argument either because I believe people can be perfectly modest without wearing hijab. If people ask why I wear hijab, I say I do it as an expression of my faith, and because I believe it’s what ALLAH asks in the Qur’an.

    I’ve said it before many times and I’ll say it again: I LOVE PERSIAN FASHION, MASHA’ALLAH! I don’t think I’ve seen an outfit from Iran that I didn’t think was gorgeous or at least smart-looking. Question: can “house chadors” (i.e. light colored chadors with floral print) like the ones in the fifth picture from the top be worn outside, or are they strictly for indoor use? I would looove to wear a light-colored floral-print chador out and about.

    • salaamu alaikum, well Anne, I mean from the islamic modesty angle. yes one can be modest wearing loose pants or a long skirt and a loose shirt, but within the deen, men and women are enjoined to practice their gender specific forms of modest which is a form of hejab for both sexes…I would never say that hejab is the headscarf and JUST the headscarf and only for women, because thats false. I’m sure you know the requirements for hejab for both genders…so I wont go into it. But for others…in a nutshell its for women covered in loose, baggy, opaque attire from head to toe with just the hands and face (generally) visible. The minor things like feet covered or un covered varies between Islamic schools of thought. For men its loose, modest attire that does not show the form and covers atleast to the knee, though no decent, religious Muslim man would go out in anything like shorts. And ofcourse modesty in behavior and interaction! Anyway…for the house chadors. Sister now adays in Iran no one but a very elderly woman from a village would go out in a printed house chador! Its considered inappropriate. Those chadors are reserved solely for around the home, salaat and maybe if your in a village…around the village. Even elderly village women when going to the city, will done a more darker colored printed chador but wont generally wear the all-black, meshki (outside) chador. This is because for quite a few decades they would be hassled for going out in the city in a colored printed chador so they moved to black or navy chadors with a print! But a young woman or a woman who is not elderly and a villager would indeed look crazy strange in one! As a background, pre-revolution women did generally wear printed, colored chadors outside. In cities or rural areas…because all black chadors were associated with death and mourning. Hence why many of the elderly women refuse to wear the all-black chadors. Its also trickled down to hejabs…like a girl from a traditional family, even if she has to wear the all black meshki chador when out, will wear a colored hejab…like beige or white or blue, otherwise older relatives will chide her for looking like shes going to a funeral!

      I think though maybe things are slightly changing, ive been seeing some navy and brown chador-mellis and modern chadors around online, hether that will trickle down to the masses I dont know and infact I doubt it for several reasons…the biggest is economic! Its cheaper to just buy the regular meshki chador material, have 1 chador and top it over your manteau. And chadors themselves have gotten wickedly expensivve to make…which is why many are going to the melli, which can be cheaper…but even then…few women own more than 1 chador at a time, so have a blue and a black and maybe a brown one would seem highly frivolous and stupid, just like having more than 2 manteau or something is considered frivolous for most, average Iranians!

      anyway, probably more than you wanted to know! LOL

  2. I agree with you on that opinion that we should cover because it is written for both women and men that we should cover our bodies according to hadith and Quran . We should cover because we want to and it is a choice from our faith not because we are afraid and want to cover because of protection . Allah is the one who protects . We cover because it is an order from Allah and our Prophet Muhammed , peace and blessing upon him .

  3. I, too, intensely dislike the view that hijab is a “protection”. Protection from what, and for whom? You can say it ‘protects’ me from men’s stares or lustful thoughts, but that implies that men have the power to hurt me merely by looking at me or thinking about me. They do not. Men who do that will answer to God for their behavior, and I refuse to allow it to become my problem. Therefore, that’s not something I need to be ‘protected’ against.

    If they want to do more then look, then yeah, that’s a problem – but a scarf or overgarment isn’t much protection against a physical assault. In Muslim countries, it might prevent some harassment (though not all, and the effect is negligible in societies where everyone where it), but relying on it to do that is fundamentally wrong-headed, because it encourages the notion that it’s ok to harass women who don’t wear it. If wearing hijab prevents harassment, the thinking goes, then those who choose not to wear it must want to be harassed. Obviously, that’s completely wrong.

    I wonder if a capster-style hijab could be sewn out of bulletproof fabric? (How do you sew that stuff, anyway?) Then, maybe, you could call it ‘protection’!

    • Yup, well said! Its indeed not a protection. Which is why some people find the whole slogan of “hejab is a protection” rather irksome since its being pushed in Iran quite strongly now. As I mentioned…its really not. Its purpose is for identity as a Muslim, modesty and that you obviously practice your faith.I get irked when I hear of sisters covering to be protected from harrassment or whatever because as you all know who have read this blog, the only thing that protected me from verbal harrassment and stalking by skeezy individuals who were not decent Muslims in Saudi was my big mouth, ghetto attitude and shoes! No amount of niqab, bisht abayaat or whatever kept those skeezers away…it was my rudeness and shoe throwing which did! LOL…so there ya go. Granted here in the US it can in some sense provide “protection”…in that if you walk by construction workers they probably wont catcall you (If your wearing real hejab, not that skinny jeans and tunic top nonsense) and you probably wont have individuals bothering you…just because. But overall its not really a protection in the sense that those new posters splashed Iran make it out to be! iywkim.

      FYI< nothing thrills me more than walking by construction workers and having them look away, hen i just saw them oogle at every other female that walked by. LOL. Yup, that can in some sense be empowering…cuz youve taken their ability to see you away.

      • Oh, yeah… I’d forgotten about shoes! I vividly remember how stupid I felt the first time I took off my sneaker and thwapped some idiot with it, but heck if it didn’t work! Don’t do that, though, if you’re wearing shoes you’d be upset to lose.

        Using your cell phone to take a picture of the license plate is another good strategy. Nine times out of ten, the car will be registered to the idiot’s father, and if you complain to the police and they call the house in the daytime, they’ll end up talking to his mother. That’s enough of a deterrent that they’ll usually hightail it out of there as soon as they see what you’re doing!

  4. Assalamualaikum!

    Dear Old School Hejabi,

    I’m a bit confused about the rulings of “jilbab” . I think that the wearing of skirts etc makes sense- however must one wear hijabi clothes underneath as well?! Or is it okay to just wear, for example, a tank top and shorts that reach the knee?

    Thank you

    • salaam and good morning, actually I have a post a few months about overgarments being required as the outside hejab. I suggest you take a gander at that. Actually skirts are not required, pants or skirts can be worn provided ones outside attire is opaque, baggy without curves being shown and there are plenty of skirts which are cut tight to the body, just like there are booty showing pants…ofcourse the best covering is an overgarment over ones clothing…like a jelbab, manteau, abaya. For under the overgarment one can wear whatever…a tank top and skinnie jeans, even shorts if you know your legs wont show or a thin chemise…whatever you want. The purpose of the outside hejab is for it to be opaque, loose and covering without showing currves. Whatever is worn under is up to the wearer. Hope this helps…

Comments are closed.