Volume Hijab!

bismillah ir rahman ir raheem

Asalaamu Alaikum wr wb…

Is any other sisters slighty creeped out with the current craze for “hijabs with volume”…i.e. having a headscarf which gives you a all-over big head-not just a huge bump ala’ hair flower, but all over HUGE-ness! Its like the Muslim womans version of non-Muslim womans vanity for fluffy hair…with volume!

Any simple google searches for “hijab with volume” or “volume hijab” yields farrr tooo many posts and YOUTUBE videos (ofcourse!) showing how the youthful hijabista can achieve the current hijabista craze of  a volumized hijab!

LMAO! Seriously…Can you even fathom how ludacris that sounds? A hijab with volume!!!  Like really who cares whether your hejab has volume…hello vanity! All it does is draw attention to yourself and negate the hejab.

I can understand if you have a serious mane of hair! I know plenty of sisters with very, very thick curly hair which naturally adds plenty of volume to their headscarf or if you do a low do-rag, bun wrap thingie to anchor the scarf in place better (I do this sometimes myself, as some scarves stay put better with a do-rag in a bun wrap)…but not in an giganto head sort of way to draw attention to ones self!

One such example is this sisters youtube video. I  know its cool and trendy…but do we need to perpetuate it? hat ever happened to hejab to show ones piety, deen and modesty?

26 thoughts on “Volume Hijab!

  1. Lol that’s got to be the bushiest flower clip I’ve ever seen. I’ve seen some other videos before where they use a smaller flower pin which seem to be popularly attached to everything nowadays. Let’s face it, this is basically “falsies” for your head!😛. The whole thing is silly and bizarre, you called it with the humps of camels comparison. I wear my hair in a bun at the back (it’s easy and convenient and there’s not much else to do with it) and I have actually thought before that it can look a bit weird in profile (I don’t usually see myself in profile, so when I do, I notice that it kind of sticks out). I certainly wouldn’t think to create this look intentionally! However, I have to disagree with Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen’s comment about how if you have a bun at the back of the head you shouldn’t wear it to the marketplace or wherever because the bump is noticeable. What else are you supposed to do? I would never put the bun on top of my head with hijab on (talk about looking silly), but leaving the braid hanging down would not only be messy and uncomfortable but also far more noticeable under clothes (you’d have to stick it down the back of your shirt to avoid it hanging out of the hijab too, ugh). Would he suggest cutting hair short to avoid making it “noticeable” under hijab?😛 Personally I think the idea that a hair bump that is naturally there under the hijab being problematic, as he seems to think, is taking it to extremes, other body bumps are obviously there even under any type of concealing clothing unless you are rail thin, we don’t have to pretend they don’t exist! The artificial accentuation seems silly though, especially this video, it really goes over the top!

    • I agree with you…thats why if you read the other (Hanafi) scholars ruling…like hair being back in a bun the *normal* way is considered OK-because its necessary. I put both scholarly rulings in to give an idea that none of the scholars, regardless of school of thought consider this stuff OK.

    • I do know sisters who have very long thick hair and they find the best, most comfortable way to wear their hair is in a braid of some type, some French type braid styles gather the hair up somewhat without creating too much volume or any obvious lumps and bumps though I understand these are fiddly to do. Whatever style you choose to do your hair in it would never look as ridiculous and fake as these ’26 scarf pile up’ styles as I call them so I wouldn’t worry too much InshaAllaah

      • To whoever gave my comment the thumbs down, sisters who have waist length or longer hair have told me they find braids the most comfortable-only passing on what they have told me!

      • You are right, but you still have to do something with the “tail” of the braid (I do that actually, by bun I meant braiding and then wrapping the braid into a bun). If you have hair around shoulder length you can do an “invisible” french braid, but much longer than that becomes difficult. (Also some types of hair are extremely difficult to make stay in a french braid). Actually having a bun in the back is also handy in that it serves to anchor the underscarf😛 but I’m getting off on a tangent here😛 I think we’re on the same page. Honestly when I see another sister with a bump though, I just assume it’s her actual hair. I guess unless it developed overnight lol😛

      • One has to bear in mind as well that Shaykh Ibn Uthaimeen Rahimahullaah was of the opinion that some type of long cape khimar; half-jilbaab or full-jilbaab (worn from the head) was required so the problem of hair sticking out from under the bottom of your hijab if braided wouldn’t be applicable in that case (unless your hair was super long like ankle length).

      • Hmm… I have to say given my experiences I would not recommend leaving a long braid hanging down (if long) even if you have a long hijab covering it, as a practical matter! First it’s still pretty obvious because it makes a braid shaped lump down your back, so I don’t think it’s less noticeable than a “bump” in fact you might even say more noticeable because it would be easy to tell how long/thick your braid is. Secondly if you leave the braid down and have some fabric over the top, it gets all fuzzy and frizzy with the hair rubbing and coming out of the braid, probably damaging the hair too. It’s also a lot easier to get it uncovered, your braid will hang down and the wind will blow the covering sideways and it will show (I’ve actually seen some people with their hair like this, or perhaps they weren’t concerned that it was hanging out or uncovered), or if you put it inside your jilbab instead of just under the khimar it’s quite uncomfortable and itchy (yeah I have thrown something over the top occasionally without pinning my hair up to go outside, it’s not pleasant). Pinning it up keeps it nicely contained, not uncomfortably poking, and I think suitably covered. I don’t think it’s necessary to pretend or try to make it look like we don’t HAVE hair under there (or breasts or a butt etc) just not showing it off or accentuating it.

      • Wallaahu Alim sister I beg to differ. If a sister wears the long khimars past knee length or a full overhead a braid doesn’t show under it, and even if it does what is shown by the wind blowing doesn’t count, if sisters feel this is more comfortable and more modest then personally I don’t see what the problem is. I myself have fairly long hair and yes I do find a braid or very low ponytail most comfortable Alhamdulillaah but as I said if the sisters I know with waist length or below hair find that a braid or pony is most comfortable for them then it really isn’t anyone else’s business…

      • salaamu alaikum, OK sisters…pls enough! Both sides are equally relevant. Jazakh’Allah for sharing! I guess it depends on what your most comfortable with. Many sisters prefer tio have their hair back in a bun or a pony tail for an anchor or comfort or cooolness…I kno I’m one of them, I cant have my hair down in a braid with a hejab over it, I go bonkers…but others that i know do so…like my 1 SIL who has very long hair but braids it and puts it UNDER her manteau. So to each their on! Both views are valid and sister can choose to do which ever. Most scholars say a pomy tail or a bun is OK, as long as the intention isnt for a camel hump, too high, obvious or showy. Also someho this post turned into a discussion over pony tails vs. not…that wasnt my intention, it as solely to gripe about how ridiculous the whole volumizing trend it and I’d like to keep it on that line of thought. OK jazakh’Allah

  2. I disagree with this interpretation of the hadith. I don’t think having a big hump under the headscarf if forbidden and has to do anything with the camel humps meant in the hadith.

    “A hijab with volume!!! It negates your hejab from the standpoint of drawing attention to yourself!”

    I understand that some Muslim women look as if they are indeed looking for attention, turning their hijab (clothes, make up, accessories) into sexy hijab. I don’t like that kind of hijab. I don’t like extremely huge heads. But there are many women who dress nicely and respectfully. Muslim women are not nuns and have right to look good, dress elegantly and feminine, enjoy fashion (without going to extreme). I believe it’s a duty for practicing Muslim women to look beautiful within the frames of what’s halal. It’s the best “dawah.” One look at a confident smartly, pleasantly, harmoniously dressed Muslim woman would say more than thousands of words about “elevated status of women in Islam.” Muslimahs as ambassadors of the “best religion on Earth” should look accordingly, as members of harmonious, best society. So, caring about looking good in hijab does not negate hijab for many women, who look decent and elegant. Maybe their hijab is more pleasing to God (because it does more good to women, society, Islam) than hijab of women dressed in scary burqas.

    The point is Muslims in different societies have different opinions about what’s halal, how a Muslim woman should dress. Some believe in “everything should be covered in black, with a one eye niqab”, some other believe the headscarf is not necessary. I wish there was more respect for woman’s personal choice how to dress, who to live her life, how to practice Islam.

    • salaamu alaikum, while I do agree on some level…i’m old school and thing that the hejab has no right to be turned into the fashion statement that its become. I agree that we should all look nice and neat and all that jazz, yadda yadda…but hejab shouldnt be about silly fashion trends that negate the hejab and making a massive head or being obsessed with “volume” defeats the whole purpose. Its just the whole “volume” thing which is ludacris! Its generally non-Muslim women who are obsessed by their looks who worry about volume and bounce in their hair! Should we be the same way? uh…no… its just ludacris and really does draw tooo much attention to oneself and is a huge joke! Also, we shouldnt dress because of how non-Muslims view us…some non-Muslims are scared of any Muslim…so what, you have to put on skinnies and look like a street walker with a headscarf so they respect you? uh, no! I know thats not what you mean, but still…its the same concept. Hejab is about modesty in attire and attitude, so how does worrying about how much volume your hair…ahem, hejab have figure into it? Its silly…

    • I’m sorry but I completely disagree, as a revert to Islam of many many years I have seen a lot of hijab fashion over the years and none has been as extreme as this latest trend. I know that far from viewing this weird big headed look as being favourable, most non Muslims think it looks extremely odd. Sometimes it isn’t even clear that the sister is Muslim any longer because Sikhs and Rastafarian women wear very similar highly wrapped volumised head coverings. As for ‘scary burqas’ I wear what someone like you would probably consider to be along those lines yet I get non Muslims approaching me asking questions about the deen all the time and they are not put off by my simple conservative dress at all. My rule of thumb is if you can’t make wudu and pray in an outfit then it shouldn’t be worn outside, most of these new hijab styles you’d have to spend at least 10 minutes carefully dismantling them in order to make your wudu and butt tight revealing jeans with skinny fitting tees are not suitable for salah either. The excuse of those who support these styles are that the camel hump Hadith doesn’t refer to this but I am afraid that those who have studied Hadith sciences and who are speakers of classical Arabic would strongly disagree there, many of these volumised styles look exactly like a camel hump and are the type of thing this Hadith refers to Allaahu Alim. Even if it is doubtful the Muslim should try to avoid those things that are doubtful but possibly haram, especially issues of vanity where there is no benefit in it for anyone. Some women have even suffered physical harm from these volumised styles such as head, neck and even back pain from all the weight and tight wrapping of multiple layers that is involved. Other ladies have suffered hair loss. I am not talking about the style in the video but the styles sisters are now wearing in London which involve up to 5 or 6 layers (sometimes more) of scarves and padding!

      • Your quite right sis Umm Abdullah…I find the more proper your dressed AS a Muslim the more actuallt people respect you for BEING a practicing Muslim! No man unless he is a crackhead would approach a Muslimah in proper hejab and speak to her improperly, but they WILL approach a Muslimah in inproper/immodest hejab lookin’ like a hootch…because the way she dresses still lacks respect! Also, like you say, many non-Muslims are MORE intrigued by proper hejab than not, so if you go out in abaya or overhead or jelbab or niqab (scary burqa!!!?!?!??!) frankly you’ll get asked more questions and possibly actually have more nice interactions because its not common, anymore for Muslimaat to dress in proper hejab, instead a perverted form of hejab is common so when people see real hejab they get intrigued. Its actually wonderful dawah! mash’Allah.

  3. It just looks like too much work! And how hot would that get? Maybe I’m just getting too busy, and maybe too old! However, compared to some of the things I’ve seen – Astaghfir’Allah – she is neat and covered, though not what I would do myself –

    • Yes cuz I was in Saudi, but the ones made in Saudi for the Saudi market were generally not that big. Plus how can I control how someone uses them? I have a few but they sit on my shelf as decoration. LOL

  4. I agree , I am not sure to say where it says but read a while back that having the hair very high is not a good thing . They say near the end days the hair that put up high is not a good sign .. Just wanted to share that , the bun I feel should be lower not on top of the head . On a positive note , at least the sisters are wearing the scarf . This scarf trend has been huge in Saudi Arabia and those areas for a long time . I have never been a fan of it and with that they usually wear the black abayas and high platform shoes to keep the abaya from touching the ground , maybe ..
    Everyone has their own style but I feel that the bump on the head is more a cultural then religious thing . Thanks for pointing this out and Salams .

  5. Assalaamu alaikum,

    Seriously? There are other ways of looking neat and put together in your hijab without having to put a banana clip on the back to double the size of your head for goodness sake! It looks ridiculous and even if one wasn’t sure if it was okay or not, aren’t we supposed to stay away from things that are doubtful? I honestly don’t understand the point at all. Alhamdulillah for sisters who are wearing the hijab but let’s remember we should encourage sisters and ourselves to do things purely for the sake of Allah subhana wa ta’ala and not worrying about whether or not it’s in line with the latest trend or how non-muslims will perceive us wa Allahu alim.

  6. Yeah, the ‘volumizing hijab’ is bizarre, I don’t like it. And that picture of the first scarf is really weird, looks sort of like the woman is being enveloped by some weird creature…

  7. Salam sisters..
    i wear knee length khimar and have found that placing my hair in a bun is such a relief as it really does create an anchor to hold the khimar in place instead of moving up/down/side ways. Its much less hassle free..the bun in not high but you can defiantly see it sitting just above the nape.Would this still be wrong?
    The volumizing trend is obviously strange..its almost like wearing a wig and trying to change the way you look..a lot of these girls don’t have long hair but they want the allusion of long hair which can never be a good reason to fake it.
    BTW i just wanted to say to Umm Ibrahim that i love reading your blog..i was one of those silent blog readers for some time..but mashallah keep up the good work

    • salaamu alaikum! jaza’Allah for the comment sis! Glad to hear from a silent reader🙂. Your comment made my day🙂
      Sister most scholars say a bun or hair pulled back is ok…its just the volume thing or the big huge clippies that arent OK. A few scholars say even hair pulled back isnt OK. But I dont personally follow their rulings anyway, so to me, it doesnt matter. But you need to look into it for your own self. Also, I come from the view that, God doesnt try to make things too hard for us, we should be reasonable and have the right intentions. Thats all I’m trying to say🙂

      Pls feel free to comment more!

  8. Jazakallah khair for ure view…i was thinking along the same lines as but wanted to get some feedback. Will defiantly look into it for myself.
    Hoping to be a frequent commenter from now on🙂

  9. I remember seeing a pretty huge flower hair clip on your blog… It wasn’t the hugest ever, but it would take really long and extremely curly hair to make a look like that naturally. It was big enough not to look natural if I remember correctly… It’s a bit funny that you’re posting this when you have shown the same in an earlier post and if I remember correctly, it was not in an, “I’m going to show you what a bad/fake hijab style looks like” but more of a “Flower clips can be too big, but they can also be OK”.

    It has been a long time so forgive me if I don’t remember the post well or I remember the clip bigger than it was… But it came off as a big flower clip when I originally saw it.

    • yes because I was in Saudi and was showing off my mini chinchilla style hair flower collection (which if you recall was mocking the insanely large clips that i was finding around town!- I.e. my calling them little chinchillas, also I was new in Saudi and was all excited to see what the heck they were after reading soooo much about them online. Lol) You don’t need you to get all “soup nazi” on me. I never wore them except for around the house thou because they were painful to wear and would have looked hugely immodest (and are immodest) and crazy looking, esp in saudi where few women wore them anyway atleast where i was.

      Unfortunately you are missing the point of my post, but whatever. If calling attention to how ridiculous of a trend caring about volumizing your hejab with layered scarves bothers you, well, that’s on you. It remains a goofy, stupid trend! Just like layered rue 21 hejab styles are or any of the other silly trends some Muslim women fall over like white on rice,

Comments are closed.