Je jilbebeuz…

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

asalaamu alaikum wr wb…

I am really busy right now comin’ up onto finals…so I wont be able to do a proper post. But I did see this article in the French Language magazine Imane for Muslim women, where some sisters who consider themselves “jilbebeuz” (jilbab wearers) are interviewed about their likes and preferences.  I found the article quite interesting. *IMPORTANT* I’m not fluent in French but can read it okay-ish. So I will give the French version first and then do a shoddy translation using my own skills and those of google translate. LOOOL!  If you are fluent in French and would like to add anything I missed…do let me know. I’m also throwing in some random pictures here and there…

(Look ma! Sarouel…on the train with a copy of Imane magazine!)

    En avril ne te découvre pas d’un fil : 5 jalabib au banc d’essai
avr 11, 2012 / Accueil, Socioculturel / Rédigé par Jessica Sihame

Dans l’article « hijab vs jilbab », du mois de novembre 2011, Imane magazine pesait pour vous les pour et les « moins pour » de ces deux tenues phares de la musulmane de France. Aujourd’hui, je suis allée à la rencontre de Solena, Julie, Nûr, Leïla et Oum Bachira pour une petite interview entièrement dédiée au jilbab.

Jilbab

Quelle matière préfères-tu pour ton jilbab ? Pourquoi cette matière là ?

Solena : La matière microfibre parce qu’elle est agréable à porter l’hiver comme l’été.

Julie : Le modèle en microfibre, car je trouve qu’il est agréable a porter et se « place » bien. De plus, on peut le mettre autant en été qu’en hiver, il suffit simplement d’adapter les vêtements du dessous selon la saison.

Nûr : Microfibre pour sa légèreté et crêpe pour son « tombé ».

Leïla : Microfibre.

Oum Bachira : Microfibre car je suis très à l’aise dedans ; c’est très fluide et léger, donc agréable à porter.

   Utilises-tu le jilbab une pièce, deux pièces ? Utilises-tu le sarouel ? Ou la jupe de jilbab avec un autre vêtement ? Tunique ? Combines-tu les couleurs, les coupes différentes ? Bref, décris-nous ton style.

Solena : Je porte généralement un jilbab 2 pièces avec sarouel. Je porte au dessus le niqab. Je favorise le noir et les couleurs foncées.

Julie : Je mets un jilbeb 2 pièces cape et sarouel parce qu’il permet une vraie liberté de mouvement. Ainsi, je suis sûre que mes jambes n’apparaîtront pas ; en plus, il a l’apparence d’une jupe. Mes couleurs sont le bleu-souris, le gris et le noir (le basic !). J’ai des vues sur un prochain jilbab couleur prune. Je pense qu’il ne faut pas trop mettre de couleurs « tape-à-l’œil ».

Leïla : Je prends toujours le jilbab 2 pièces à cause de ma petite taille ! Le jilbab une pièce ne me va pas. Quant aux sarouels, j’en mets moins souvent car je me sens nettement plus à l’aise en jupe. Parfois je mets une jupe de jilbab avec une tunique. J’aime beaucoup mixer les couleurs. Par exemple, avec une jupe noire, je mets une autre couleur de cape etc…

Nûr : Cela dépend. J’aime bien mettre une jupe taupe avec du vieux rose (une couleur qui reste assez neutre), ou encore du noir ou du bleu marine. Pour aller faire une course je passe généralement un jilbab taupe avec une veste noire (légèrement cintrée mais pas serrée). Je n’ai jamais essayé le sarouel mais ça ne saurait tarder ! Il a l’air pratique et décontracté, donc l’idée me plaît bien.

Oum Bachira : Je n’utilise que le jilbab 2 pièces. J’utilise parfois le sarouel ou la jupe du jilbab avec de très longues tuniques. Ensuite peu importe les couleurs, du moment que le tout reste dans les critères islamiques. Donc mon style c’est plutôt jilbab, jupe avec de très longues tuniques. Mais pour moi cela reste un jilbab à part entière, puisque le rendu est le même.

    Quels sont tes critères favoris pour le choix de ton jilbab ?

Solena : Je dirais que mes critères principaux relèvent du pratique ! Par exemple, quand il pleut je mets le jilbab noir pour éviter que les tâches d’eau ne se voient ; quand il y a du vent je mets un jilbab à manches élastiques pour qu’il ne « vole » pas, quand il fait chaud je mets quelque chose de très léger en dessous avec un jilbab manches élastiques en crêpe léger.

Julie : Je n’ai pas vraiment de critères dans l’absolu. Disons que je le préfère au voile « classique ». Il calfeutre bien les formes et il donne un bel effet, propre et clair. Pour ma part le jilbab est plus « choquant » pour les gens de ma ville, mais cela dit il est beaucoup plus pratique.

Nûr : Mon critère principal c’est la sobriété élégante. Le jilbab doit couvrir le corps avant tout. Mais une couleur douce, neutre et satinée sans être brillante m’attire souvent dans le choix de mon jilbab. Je vérifie aussi que le cache-menton remonte bien et ne tombe pas en dessous du cou, car j’ai une petite tête. La jupe doit être très ample et pleine de plis pour un maximum de liberté.

Leïla : Mes critères de couleur ce sont les foncés : bleu nuit, noir, prune, vert jade, etc.

Oum Bachira : Le critère principal est que la couleur ne soit pas flashy, que la jupe ne soit pas serrée aux chevilles, sinon je pourrais tomber comme pas mal de soeurs ^^ Ma préférence pour les couleurs sont le gris et le noir. Je n’aime pas le jilbab avec les boutons aux poignets : je les choisis avec l’élastique. Enfin, lorsque j’achète un modèle, je fais bien attention à un détail important : je lève les bras afin de vérifier qu’on ne voit pas ce que je porte en dessous.


and my less than great attempt at translating it… LOL

    April 11, 2012 / Written by Jessica Sihame

In the article  “hijab vs. jilbab” November 2011, Imane magazine weighed the pros and cons of these two styles of covering (they mean hijab as in just a headscarf and like shoulder abaya, shoulder jilbab or tunic and skirt vs. the jilbab which flows from the head) by Muslims in France. Today, I went to meet Solena, Julie, Nur, Leila and Umm Bachira for a short interview dedicated to the jilbab.

Jilbab

What material do you prefer for your jilbab? What matters?

Solena: (I prefer) The microfiber material (called koshibo microfiber online) because it is comfortable to wear in winter and summer.

Julie: The microfiber model because I find it pleasant to wear and it sits well. Moreover, it can be worn in summer or winter, simply adjust the clothes underneath depending on the season.

Nur: Microfiber lightweight crepe, due to its feel/drape.

Leila: Microfiber.

Umm Bachira: Microfiber because I am very comfortable in it and it is very smooth and light, so comfortable to wear.

Do you use the jilbab one-piece, two-pieces? Do you use the sarouel (harem pants)? Skirt or other garment with a jilbab piece? Tunic? Do you combined the colors, wear different cuts? In short, describe your style.

Solena: I usually wear a jilbab 2-piece with sarouel. I wear the niqab on top. I favor black and dark colors.

Julie: I wear the 2-piece jilbab with sarouel  because it allows me true freedom of movement. I’m sure my legs will not appear! in addition, it has the appearance of a skirt. My colors are navy, gray and black (the basic!). I think that we should not wear “flashy” colors (i.e. she means probably like the light blue, the purple, the green, the light pink, etc)

Leila: I always wear the 2-piece jilbab because of my size! The 1-piece jilbab does not suit me. As for sarouel, I do not wear them very much  because I feel much more comfortable in a skirt. Sometimes I put a skirt with a abaya (shoulder jilbab). I love mixing the colors. For example, with a black skirt, I put different colored half jilbab, etc …

Nur: It depends. I like to put a taupe colored skirt with an antique pink (a color that is fairly neutral), or black or navy blu half-jilbab top piece. To go out, I usually wear a taupe jilbab with a black jacket (slightly fitted but not tight). I have never tried the sarouel but I will  soon! They look very relaxed and practical, so I like the idea.

Umm Bachira: I only wear the 2-piece jilbab. I sometimes wear sarouel or skirt, and I sometimes wear the skirt/sarouel with very long tunics. I dont care about the color, as long as everything is within the Islamic criteria. So it’s more my style to wear a jilbab or the jilbab skirt with a very long tunics.They continue to be the full jilbab, since the style is the same.

What are your criteria for choosing your favorite jilbab?

Solena: I would say my main criteria is that it is practical! For example, when it rains I wear a black jilbab to prevent the water spots from being visible. when it’s windy I wear a jilbab with elastic cuffs, when it’s hot I put something very light underneath with a jilbab made of crepe fabric and loose elastic cuffs.

Julie: I do not really have any absolute criteria. I prefer the traditional jilbab style. It fits well and it gives a nice effect.  The jilbab is “shocking” to people in my city, but I believe they are the most convenient.

Nur: My main criteria is that it be both simple and elegant. The jilbab should cover the body first. But a soft color, neutral and silky without being brilliant often draws me in when choosing my jilbab. I also check that the cache-chin (the front panel which covers the chin) covers well and does not fall below the neck, because I have a small head. The skirt should be very ample and full of folds for maximum freedom.

Leila: My criteria are the dark color: midnight blue, black, plum, green jade, etc..

Umm Bachira: The main criterion is that the color is’nt flashy, the skirt is not tight at the ankles, otherwise I might fall like a lot of sisters! My preference for colors are gray and black. I do not like the jilbab (half, cape style jilbab)  with the buttons at the wrists: I choose them with elastic. Finally, when I buy a model, I am very careful in one important detail: I lift my arm to ensure I can not see what I wear underneath.

6 thoughts on “Je jilbebeuz…

  1. JazkahAllah khair for your translation. I don’t speak French so it’s nice to hear what other sisters are doing in non-English speaking countries and how their style may vary from ours here in the U.S.

  2. salam aleikum… I often hear how microfiber can be worn in all seasons. But I guess thats for european standards? I wonder if they would wear microfiber in the desert!!!
    lolz just my crazy thoughts…

    wasalam….

    • LOOOL, wa salaam…you are kinda crazy sis. LOL. But, I’ll just say, keep in mind the jelbab style and the fabrics are sorta designs for the western european customers since most of the companies ho make them are based in France and design in France (some have them produced in Syria or Morocco) but still…they ard designed for wearing in the typical western euro climate. I can tell you though, where I’m at in the east coast of the USA summers are mighty humid and muggy and I found the one I had to be pretty OK. In super humid weather I wore the internet or switched to an abaya, but overall I do like the microfiber the best since its quite all season wear.

      Now, I have lived in Saudi Arabia mind you and true desert is very dry and while hot, crazy hot, you honestly dont feel it, unless your standing directly UNDER the sun! simply cuz there is no humidty…its the humidity that will get cha! Where we lived in Saudi-Khobar right on the Gulf coast (easter provinces) you have like 3-4 months of KILLER HUMIDITY…so bad you were soaking wet in 2 seconds, your glasses would steam up going outside and everything else…and in that weather everything is gross, even the finest, nicest, highest quality, lightest high grade Japanese saloona crepe! LOL. So yah if your in Khobar, Id say, dont wear microfiber in summer, keep it for winter and fall…LOL, or if your anywhere with a moderate climate then it would be a decent fabric.

    • I’m not sure which microfiber these ladies are speaking about but they are very very different. I have 2 types; the koshibo (microfibre) and the wool peach (microfibre leger). The koshibo is very light to wear in that it doesn’t weigh much but the fabric doesn’t feel like it breathes much and makes me hot. I would not wear that in humid weather. In spring when there’s a little chill breeze it’s nice though. I also find it really uncomfortable to tie around my head b/c If you wrap it over your ears you feel like your hearing is so dulled and you also hear the fabric kind-of rustling… These are just my experiences…

      The wool peach or microfibre leger on the other hand is a very light crepe-like fabric. It looks like crepe but it doesn’t wrinkle like crazy like crepe does and it’s totally anti static – whoot. I actually thought it was crepe when I first got a skirt in the fabric. It is really lightweight and smooth and I couldn’t figure out what kind of crepe it was as all crepes that I’ve seen have some texture to it. It seems similar to the saudi crepe but much much lighter in weight. The only down-side is being that it’s such a light drape-y fabric, if the wind blows it will hug your body more than some of the less flowy fabrics.

  3. salam alaikum sisters
    first of all thank you Umm Ibrahim for your experience, Im still in a confused state because of all the fabrics for islamic clothes etc.. Haha it even kept me from ordering from the french online shops – I was sooooo confused and didnt know what to order first. Saved a lot of money…they are almost sold out.
    @ Umm Abbad:
    I have a microfiber leger jillbab and I love it. Its perfect – not what I expected tho, but I usually need time to adapt to clothes and figure out the pros and cons.

    I would love a light grey jillbab … but in a cotton like fabric. those typically pullover fabrics.

    wasalam sisters

Comments are closed.