A Jordanian style scarf/niqab style…

asalaamu alaikum wr wb!

Ive been seeing several Jordanian women I know around town wearing this exact scarf style. I finally got up the courage to ask one of them how to wrap a scarf like that style and so, voila! I can share my new found scarf style with you all! This style seems to be most popular with Jordanian women who wear the half niqabs and who dress more conservatively-like in full length shoulder jilbabs and many use the larger 45-50inch squares. I like this style because it has a pretty sweep down the back and covers the chin AND has chest coverage. Wow, you cant ask for much more from a scarf style now can you!  Ive worn it around a few times and am indeed liking it. Unfortunately, I’m stuck in my ways so am having a HARD tiime letting go from my Lebanese square style where its pinned under the chin, 2 ends hang don, 1 pin at the cheek covering the neck and the other side pinned at opposite shoulder to cover the chest…the SAME style Ive worn since the late 90’s…LOL. Its hard breaking old habits but im trying to wear this Jordanian style more as a change.  I also pleasently found out, its posisble to wear it as a niqab too!  Just make sure your scarf is BIG enough!!!

What you’ll need…a large 45inches or bigger square scarf in a light, airy, polyester…like yoryu, georgette, whatever. I am using a Yoryu scarf from NYC based Al-Mujalbaba here and it gives the perfect drape! You’ll need like atleast 2 quilting pins or more if you like a lot of security or plan to use it as a niqab too!

1) Make the square into a triangle! Voila.

2) Position on head, one side needs to be super, super short, the other side will be extremely long. Pin under the chin. make sure you have on an underscarf!

3) Now that its pinned, gradually bring the super long end around, cover the chin or not.

4) Now, bring the edge all the way around the head and you’ll have a small bit left. You will need to pin at the side of the head. Fiddle with where you pin to get the look/comfort you want. But the from should be like a triangular shape over the chest, nothing covering the back but you can leave the side bit draping over the chest. The biggest the scarf the more coverage you can achieve.

Voila…

Now to wear this style as a niqab…you know that dangly bit…you can cover the face with that! Personally im not a huge fan of printed fabrics used as niqabs…i’d go for a solid color scarf personally. But, to each their own!

Just bring the dangly bit over and across the face and pin comfortably at the opposite cheek. If you want to eat, you can eat under the flap, or pull it down (if facing away from non-mahrams). The breathability depends on the scarf you have on!

What do you all think of this hejab style? Would you wear it?

16 thoughts on “A Jordanian style scarf/niqab style…

  1. I don’t usually wear my square scarves this way (even the super big ones), but it looks a lot like a style I’ve been doing lately with some really wide oblongs I got that I just love🙂. Basically you fold them the same way, except when you make the triangle at the beginning, you just make as much of a triangle as you can make with one end of the rectangle. I think the oblong ends up with more drapey fabric on the shoulders than a square would, and I usually add a pin on one shoulder to keep it from shifting around (and keep the front “triangle” centered, and the back from pulling up against my neck which I don’t like)… I might not be describing this well lol.

    • Personally I don’t like wrapping because the fabric sticks to my neck and since I cover my chin it gives a kind of weird look sideways (not very modest either). Maybe you don’t know what I mean, anyway the “lebanese” style is the one I prefer.

  2. Nice style.. But as you already know here in Turkey the square scarfs are pretty small. So i have one pashmina style rectangle scarf i put on as you describe as lebanese style. i learnt it from youtube shayla videos. But i guess i have to make myself a wider rectangle scarf as it shuffles a lot in the back since it is a bit narrow.

  3. As Salaam Alaykum, The scarf is beautiful!!!! WHat is the name of it on the Al-Mujalbaba site?

  4. I have a Malaysian scarf styling book and it has a very similar style in there. I do something similar but the short end is not quite as short, I also get a very large to begin with square scarf, anything between 50-60 inches and then do that folding technique to make the scarf bigger, instead of folding into a neat triangle, just fold one corner in not all the way to the opposite edge and wrap in a very similar way to above, because it is so large and not folded into a neat triangle it looks more like a cool shaylah wrap and provides a lot of chest coverage, but also has the nice shaping around the face.

  5. Keep up the good work with your blogging about modest, but still stylish, Islamic wear! I’m sure it is very useful for many to know there is something pleasant but still Islamically acceptable between (as you call it) ‘Rue 21’ and head-to-toe black which looks very chic to us but can scare the pants off non-Muslims when living in the West. We do after all have to go grocery shopping, go to post office/bank, taxi the kids around etc hopefully with minimum harrassment. And while some sisters do it all effortlessly in dark/black colours mashaAllah, I after trying it for several years, cannot stand the aggravated insults.

    I wear a very similar look to the one you’ve illustrated but I use the long shayla-type – using the long bit as a niqab. It wraps very comfortably just like a niqab and it does not show the shape of the mouth/face at all as I have seen with similar shaylas wrapped around the face as niqab. I gave up trying to match my coloured scarves with block coloured half or full niqabs. And now normally only wear patterned shaylas wrapped into niqab because they normally do not show food stains, my, ahem, shiny T-zone marks, foundation/make-up or baby possets as some plain scarves and niqabs tend to do on me.

    • asalaamu alaikum, aww sis…your comment made me quite happy! I’m glad you appreciate my blog! I agree with you 100% and I find it a shame that its getting harder and harder to find blogs aimed at proper islamic attire. Allahu’Alim. I like black too, but like you have found that if I wear all black I get a lot more rudeness vs. long stuff but colors which is why I like the French jelbabs in colors and colored shoulder jilbabs or abayaat and printed scarves. Although I generally dont care what people think about how I dress anyway, but sometimes I prefer less negativity aimed at me. LOL Also my husband dislikes a lot of black anyway due to its cultural connontations with funerals…so if I do a black abaya or jilbab I do a colored scarf. rarely black head to toe..but I also know some sisters who wear black effortlessly and have for years…so it works for them. alhamdullah. But, in the end…color doesnt matter so much as the style as a sister can wear colors as long as the attire covers the awrah…y’know. OK sis…i’m out!

  6. Its amazing what a variation in attitudes there is in different places, here in London I get a lot more negative attention and startled looks from non-Muslims when I wear colours, the lighter and more vibrant the colour, the more nonsense I get. Consequently I had to give away my plum long khimars after a number of such incidents. I kept a brown and navy one, still get the odd comment when wearing those. I am not sure why this is, perhaps because in London dark somber colours are de rigeur for the general population and therefore any vast swathes of colour do turn heads, another possibility is maybe Londoners react differently to seeing an intimidating vision of head to toe black, they choose to side step and ignore as opposed to confronting with verbal or other abuse. Either way it suits me, as black is the only colour I can manage to keep clean for more than five minutes, and grease and stain free in the long term.🙂

    • Indeed, it could be just londoners are known for being more staid and so just step aside and ignore the black. I dunno, but here where im at in the USA, head to toe black does get more negativity than colors or black with color. But, personally I dont do certain light colors like pink or soft tones because that causes some weird comments too…I go for stuff like brown, navy, purples, blues, greens and like a kakhi or beige and I generally dont get anything at me, but like if I wore pink or something like that, yes I’d get crazy comments… But, in the end it doesnt really matter as we are covering for the sake of Allah swt.

  7. You see this sometimes in Turkey too with the Turkish style. I think it looks very strange. I personally wouldn’t ever wear this, since niqabs aren’t really my thing. I will just stick to the regular Turkish style.

  8. Heh it’s funny that so many people get different reactions based on the colors they are wearing. Honestly, I’ve never even considered this (and I don’t think it’s really a factor here). I suppose I could see how it would make one stand out if there were a large muslim population with a “standard” dress as in some countries. Here though (I also live in the US) I stand out regardless. I pretty much wear what I want😛. I don’t tend to wear black next to my face because the contrast makes me look even more pale (to the point of sickly) but I do wear black abayas sometimes, I like some variety though so I wear all sorts of different colors and styles depending on what I feel like (I have more options than when I first converted these days, so I like to take advantage of that). I have now thought back over the reactions I’ve gotten from people (too many to count really) and I don’t believe it does have much to do with what colors I’ve been wearing (though I do think some areas are “friendlier” than others for sure). Even if I were to notice a trend on colors (unlikely after all this time I guess) I don’t think it would have any impact on my choices, really😛. If I were dressing to please other people, well, then I wouldn’t be wearing hijab of any kind!

Comments are closed.