Making the Burqa in Hormozagan province.

This Blog Has Moved!!!

See you at the new site: http://www.oldschoolhijabi.com

You can sign up for RSS feeds to your email and stay in touch with OSH via Facebook and Pintrest, en’sha’Allah!

See you there…

asalaamu alaikum…

wow I’m surprised at the responses I got from my previous post on the dress of the Bandari peoples in Southern Iran. I thought noone really even read that series. Alhamdullah…

anyway, I found this neat pictorial showing how they make the traditional burqa (pron. bor-gha in Farsi) in Bandar Abbas (a city in Hormozagan province).

(Buying already made burqas and trimmings in the Bandar Abbas bazaar)

Starting from the beginning…

4 thoughts on “Making the Burqa in Hormozagan province.

  1. beautiful mA! Do you if traditionally they would completely cover their faces with the niqab underneath the burqa? I’m guessing not, b/c for example the older Emirati women I see from the more rural areas who wear the burqa (the gold one) here in the UAE don’t

Comments are closed.