Printed shaylahs as niqab?

OLD SCHOOL HIJABI HAS MOVED TO ITS OWN DOMAIN! THIS BLOG WILL NO LONGER BE UPDATED AT THIS ADDRESS…TO SEE THE NEW BLOG AND TO INTERACT WITH OLD SCHOOL HIJABI, GO TO WWW.OLDSCHOOLHIJABI.COM

asalaamu alaikum wr wb

Since there are a LOT more Saudi’s coming to the USA for school than a few years ago, Im starting to see around my neighboorhood more and more young Saudi women who wear their shaylahs (usually printed) wrapped up as a niqab. Its the same way of wrapping the shaylah as what they do in the Gulf with a black crepe shaylah, but here they go for a thin, usually printed shaylah and wrap it up as a niqab.

Have you all seen that style and what do you think about it?

As those of you who have read my blog for ages know, Im quite pro-niqab. I wore niqab off and on for a few years before marriage and for a few months when in Saudi so I am in no ay against niqab. I guess I’m sort of traditional in that, personally I think the niqab looks nicer when its a regular half or headband niqab worn  OVER a printed shaylah…like what many American munaqabaat wear. Personally, I just think it blends better and looks more sleek and less busy.

What do you all think?

 

15 thoughts on “Printed shaylahs as niqab?

  1. As Salaam Alaykum, yes I’ve noticed this trend too..and it is a bit strange (as I am used to the half or head-band style niqaabs). However, I am a person who is ALL FOR diversity in how we chose wear hijab. I personally wouldn’t go for this look but I’m really feelin the floral shaylay/niqaab look. For someone reason florals work better for this look, rather then solids or stripes to me – I don’t know why….

    • wa alaikum as salaam..yes Im on the same lines as you. I am not a huge fan of the style ofcourse…to each their own. I guess it just comes down to what your most used too. I think the sep. shaylah with niqab looks a bit more put together but again, thats just me. I tried that style a few times in Saudi with the black crepe or cotton gauze shaylahs and they suffocated me and fogged up my glasses…def. didnt work for me! hehehe

  2. I’ve seen two sisters here wear it this way, I remember seeing them every now and then for the last couple of years while I’m driving in the mornings. I like it, but I’m not sure it’s something I’d be able to wear, with the fabric wrapped around like that. If I wore niqab, I would want something more flowing.

  3. I like the idea of a patterned, colored niqab rather than the standard black one, but I don’t really like the shayla-as-niqab look because it looks too suffocating and not as put-together as a separate niqab does.

  4. im not a fan..i have seen some saudi women trying to adjust/fix this shayla/niqab style and in the process reveal their entire face. It would be tricky if you needed to do some emergency adjustments. Also hijab is not just about hair and face (different opinions) but its also about the body and most of the time these shorter shaylas lack in the bosom coverage.

  5. There is a sister here who wears this style. I asked her about it and she said she gets less stares than the traditional black she was wearing when she first came to the US. I like the way it looks on her. She also wears glasses but I have no idea how she keeps them from fogging up. When I see her it never looks tight across her face. She actually uses a dupatta or longer shayla. Maybe the extra frabric is easier to work with?

  6. 🙂 Love this style. It is from the Saudi ladies I copied my style as I seem to get less looks this way. Florals look good, stripes look weird imho.

    I wrap a little differently and use 3 pins which I’ve never seen Saudi ladies use – except for maybe a hair slide. The way I wrap leaves lots of breathing room. I’ll have to post my instructions inshaAllah. But basically it is the same wrap style using a long shayla with a very long side and a very short side. The very long end is then pinned and wrapped back across the face and pinned again. Very simple and non-suffocating.

    I think two of the comments are from fetishists btw…eww gross but I guess it comes with the territory when talking about niqab.

    • wa alaikum as salaam…jazakh’Allah for your info sis! yes I do know the way you mean, although your right Saudi women never use the pins. now, in Saudi I DID try to wrap my tarha several times as a niqab but it just did not work for me. No matter how I tried it pressed too much on my nose or if it didnt press on my nose my glasses fogged up. I think it may work better if you have a longer nose or a longer face…because there is more room, but my face is round with a small nose…so I just couldnt do it. I never tried with the pins though…so maybe that ould have helped. But, like over in Saudi you can get tarha made in a very light black mesh cotton or mesh crepe which is meant to be worn as a wrapped niqab or gatwa-like wrap and then drape over the face or around the face.

      Your right about the niqabi festishists…i saw those comments too, but was wondering if maybe I was overreacting. but I will delete them. I had wanted to do some more niqab related posts but I loath the creeper fetishist comments that occur when I do so! *grrr*.

      Pls do post directions…if you would *like* do to a guest post with a tutorial just msg me ur email, I’ll email u and delete ur comment. I would prefer pictures but obv blurr out the face and watermark it. OK. But, i’d be happy to do that as it may interest other readers.

  7. I’m pretty sure the shaylah the sister is wearing in the top picture is one of those Yemeni house shaylahs. I don’t like this way of wearing the shaylah as niqab but there are some other ways as the other sister has mentioned that are a) more breathable and b)look less fussy. While it isn’t identical to the style above I once saw a sister here in the UK whom I presume was Saudi wearing a closed overhead abaya and half niqab made in the same matching floral rayon fabric instead of your typical black crepe and it looked really nice; not attention-seeking at all and in that community where black overgarments were not yet commonplace, maybe was a better choice.

  8. I don’t wear niqab, but I actually like this look for niqab a lot better than the separate tie on pieces and it seems like it would be more comfortable (I’ve tried on the separate ones before). I think if I ever did want to cover my face, I would do it this way using one end of the same scarf rather than the separate bits (but not tight like the last photo, that looks uncomfortable. What if I sneeze? I have allergies :P). Plus it would be easier to raise and lower to eat, etc or if you wanted to uncover your face for something else.

  9. We had two guest speakers at our masjid last year both of Pakistani origin who wore a large square hijab as niqab in a solid color. I didn’t realize it was a single piece in either case until the sisters went to lower the niqab. It was summer so I assume the sisters were relatively comfortable since they didn’t appear bothered. I rather liked the style but haven’t quite figured out how to recreate it.

  10. I am not a niqab fan in general. It isn’t really my thing. I am not against other people wearing it though, but this style looks really strange.

Comments are closed.