IN with the NEW and OUT with the OLD! Shukr jeans

asalaamu alaikum wr wb sisters!

I am sooooo happy and excited right now.  I finally have decided  I need to go through all of my pants and get rid of all of my old, ripped, worn out, broken zippered ones and replace them with some new ones! Now…I have a small horde of wide legged pants from Shukr which I bought between 4-5 years ago.  They indeed gave me “bang of the buck” and they have stayed in pretty good condition all of these years…only they have faded horribly, zippers have broken, areas have worn out and MOST importantly they are all now HUGE on me! Like I have to wear a belt just to keep them on as when I bought them I was a bit bigger than I am now and then I went to Saudi…gained more and over the past year and a half have managed to go back to my pre-pregnancy size…alhamdullah. But, I digress…its not cool having to wear faded, worn out, zipper broken jeans WITH a belt! I had considered taking them in but was like…uh, why bother! LOL.

So anyway. I am going to soon be the proud owner of 2 new Shukr denim jeans. I chose denim because I hate 99% of allll denim jeans sold in mainstream stores and the 1% of the time I find a pair I like, there is something wrong with them in my eyes! LOL

I’m getting these 2…

Denim Maymoona

This pair will be good as an everyday denim jean under abayaat, jilbabs or manteau which hit a few inches above the ankle.

Denim skirt-pant

These will be good under my Islamiya abayaat and my knee and 3/4th length manteau/kap

Wow, I’m almost getting teary eyed…its like end of an era or something. LOL. Btw I am loving those skirt-pants, they are becoming trendy in “hejabi” circles so hopefully they will trickle down to the skinny pant set!

Oh and…because I KNOW I will have someone say something…according to the majority of Islamic scholars (including the ones I follow) pants for women are perfectly suitable as long as they are long, baggy and conceal the figure-and its socially acceptable. There are only a few scholars who have ruled that pants (even pants made for women and worn in societies where pants on women are socially acceptable) say that they are not allowed. But, they are a minority opinion while the majority say as long as its socially acceptable (i.e. ‘URF) that it is allowed. Now, if I was in a culture where pants on women were not socially acceptable…like deemed unfeminine…that would be one thing…its like I have some friends who are Iraqi and Egyptian and they say that most women in their countries wear skirts or dresses as socially its better for women to wear skirts/pants…even women who arent Muslim wear them as its the cultural norm….while in other societies…like Iran…in most cultural groups pants are the norm and even if a woman wears a skirt, its only socially acceptable to step outside with pants on under the skirt. Otherwise skirts are considered immodest and indecent. So in this matter, ‘Urf plays a role.

Here are some rulings which I found from the Hanafi madhab;

(NOTE-these rulings are given as an example…if you are in doubt or have questions about the permissibility of pants for women then you need to contact the scholars YOU follow and the madhab YOU follow. Not me🙂 Because minor rulings do vary between schools!) And Allah knows best!

Sunni Ruling…

Specificall Hanafi madhab;

From Mufti Ebrahim Desai;

In today’s time and age, it is permissible for both males and females to wear pants. Previously, when it was not a norm for women to wear pants as men do, it could have been said that it is not permissible for women based on the Hadith that the Prophet (Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallam) cursed such men who imitated women and such women who imitated men. (Bukhari, Hadith: 5436. Tirmizi, Hadith: 2708)

Nowadays, since wearing pants has become a common factor between men and women, the issue of women and men imitating each other does not apply. Thus, the Hadith will not apply to women wearing pants as understood from the commentary of Tuhfatul Ahwazi.

عن ابن عباس قال لعن النبي صلى الله عليه وسلم المخنثين من الرجال والمترجلات من النساء وقال أخرجوهم من بيوتكم (صحيح البخاري، حديث رقم: 5436)

عن ابن عباس قال لعن رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم المتشبهات بالرجال من النساء والمتشبهين بالنساء من الرجال قال أبو عيسى هذا حديث حسن صحيح. (سنن الترمذي، حديث رقم: 2708)

قوله : ( لعن رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم المتشبهات بالرجال من النساء والمتشبهين بالنساء من الرجال )

قال الطبري : المعنى لا يجوز للرجال التشبه بالنساء في اللباس والزينة التي تختص بالنساء ولا العكس . قال الحافظ : وكذا في الكلام والمشي ، فأما هيئة اللباس فتختلف . باختلاف عادة كل بلد فرب قوم لا يفترق زي نسائهم من رجالهم في اللبس ، لكن يمتاز النساء بالاحتجاب والاستتار ، وأما ذم التشبه بالكلام والمشي فمختص بمن تعمد ذلك. (تحفة الأحوذي شرح سنن الترمذي)

However, utmost care should be taken that the pants are not so tight fitting that it reveals the shape of ones limbs. It will not be permissible to wear pants if it reveals the shape of ones limbs.

It is not permissible for women to wear a shirt if it reveals the shape of the body. The prophet (Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallam) cautioned those women who wear such clothing that reveals the shape of their bodies and warned them of being entrants of the fire of Hell. (Sahih Muslim, Hadith: 3971)

عن أبي هريرة قال قال رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم صنفان من أهل النار لم أرهما قوم معهم سياط كأذناب البقر يضربون بها الناس ونساء كاسيات عاريات مميلات مائلات رءوسهن كأسنمة البخت المائلة لا يدخلن الجنة ولا يجدن ريحها وإن ريحها ليوجد من مسيرة كذا وكذا. (الصحيح لمسلم، حديث رقم: 3971)
—-
Wearing pants under dress or skirt?

Answered by Shaykh Abdurrahman ibn Yusuf Mangera
Question:
I would like to know if it is Sunnah for a Muslima to wear shawals or pants, under her dress or skirt. I would like to know if this is Sunnah and what Islamic Schools of Thought. Is it not so that Sayyida A’isha wore pants under her dress, or skirt?
Answer:
In the Name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

Assalamu alaykum

In the name of Allah the Inspirer of truth

It is sunna and necessary to wear clothing that sufficiently covers the parts of the body required to be covered and is not tight so as to allow curves of the body, etc, to be visible.

If wearing pants or trousers helps in this regard they would be sunna. Having said this, it is better to wear pants since they are more concealing since they do not allow parts of the leg to be exposed so easily in the case of wind or excessive movement.

And Allah knows best.

and….

Question:

I am a young woman who works at a place that requires me to wear a uniform. Is it permissible for me to wear pants if they are large on me?
Answer:
In the Name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

In the Name of Allah, Most Merciful and Compassionate

I pray this email finds you well. Thank you for your question.

Scholars mention that a woman’s clothing must:

(1) Be opaque such that the colour of the skin underneath cannot be seen,
(2) surround her nakedness (i.e. the parts of the body that she is obliged to cover) such that nothing appears of it, and
(3) not disclose the shape of the nakedness.

If a form of clothing fulfills these conditions, it is permissible for a woman to wear it even if it differs from specific forms of clothing worn by Muslim women in other parts of the world. If the clothing does not fulfill these conditions, it would not be permissible for her to wear it.

And Allah knows best.

I also found these ruling from the Shia madhab.  I know most of my readers do not follow the shia madhab, but I am giving to show that through all the madhabs this is a pretty typical response towards female pants on women.

According to Sistani;

Q1) Wearing a trouser and t-shirt to what stage is allowed and what if I do proper hijab over it when I go outside?

A1) It is not allowed for a woman to go out of her house wearing the cloths that shows her body before strangers.

Q2) Is there any restriction to wear pants having a long bottom, so that it come under our feet?

A2) Feet should be covered and trousers should not arouse strangers..

19 thoughts on “IN with the NEW and OUT with the OLD! Shukr jeans

  1. I looooove the way Shukr jeans look, but I’ve never actually broken down and bought a pair. I wear pants all the time, but they’re always concealed by some kind of overgarment, so I don’t know if I can justify spending so much money on Shukr jeans when they probably won’t be seen anyways. Maybe if I can find a cool calf-length manteau to wear, I’d get a pair of super wide-legged jeans, since I think they look awesome.

    • wa alaikum as salaam..yup…thats why im getting the maymoona cuz they will fill in for regular jeans/everyday wear under my abayaat and jilbabs…but a more modest/baggier version of the store variety. Y’kno. They are well worth it! I figure even under a full length garment the maymoona ones are good cuz what if the wind blows or something…the skinnies and peg leggers tend not too be loose enough for my taste.

  2. Although I absolutely LOVE the second pair I can’t really justify spending that much money on jeans since I always wear abayas outdoors. And since I’m no longer working hubby wouldn’t indulge me on such a purchase anyway lol.

    • they often do sales and the clearances are the best. Sometimes they sell jeans and skirts for £16-19. total bargin. so keep a look out for those clearaces

      • I agree they do have fairly decent clearances but I’m plus sized and those are often the fastest sizes to go so there’s not much left when the price goes down lol. I do fairly ok with salwar kameez and maxi dresses for indoors or under my abayas usually but it would be nice to have a pair of nice jeans when friends come over.

  3. Congrats on the new jeans !!!..
    i wanted to ask you, seeing that you have lived in Saudi before. Maybe its an exaggeration but i have heard that saudi woman are becoming more and more overweight as time goes by..and because you said that you gained some weight in saudi..what do you think the major cause of weight gain is in saudi? Also in general saudis seem to be focused on looks and the outer appearance..do you think weight issues are as scrutinised in saudi as in the west or is it something more culturally acceptable in saudi>> sorry for all the questions but i don’t know anyone else that has been to saudi.
    Jazakallah khair

    • Asalam waliykum,

      Just wanted to add my view on this. I am not saudi but my husbands family have lived there for over 10years. Also have a friend from there.
      If you ever watch Saudi or khaliji soaps.. you will notice many of the women are over weight and it is considered a thing of beauty.
      I have asked my inlaws this exact queston and funnly enough most of teh saudi society have been unaffected by the west disease of stick insect appearnce.
      Still a mother will want a wife for her son who is curvey and has birthing hips! lol. Its true, same in most traditional communities across the arab world. I know very similar in Egypt, most families like their women to be curvey and plus size. A size 14-18 is a good thing.

      My brothers inlaws are from Syria/Iraq and they love their food, very traditional and they always complain about how skiny i am, and they dislike how skiny my brother is so they feed him lots! lol
      I can see why its easier to gain weight in Saudi, i spoke with my inlaws and they told me they dont walk anywhere, its too hot. So they take a car everywhere event to school, uni shops etc. So they just walk a few steps out the house to the car, then from the car to their destination. Hardly any walking…

  4. And also, I have heard some people say that pants are an immatation of men, so they shouldn’t be worn. Personally, I think that argument is kinda stupid because if you think about it, a thobe which is worn by men in the MIddle East kinda looks like a dress or ann abaya, but you never hear anyone saying that they are immatating women.

    • Well, I don’t think it’s stupid per se it’s more so “‘urf” than not! But the scholars who do rule that regardless of urf are a minority. Allahu alim, the scholars I follow say it’s allowed as long as its socially the norm.

      • i agree, socially the norm and modest and inkeeping with hijab obligation. It is the norm in the UK to wear trousers, but you can not wear them with a short top or jumper and have your thigh, hips and bum showing… thats not hijab and goes against the guidelines. As long as its worn modestly and loose, and covers everything and no shape is seen then you can wear anything. But that is not possible as trousers tend to fit the hips and thighs and bum on women and get tighter at the waist. so everything from knees up would be tight and showing the figure. I have never seen a way of overcoming this. Only if you wear a long dress like tunic to the knee. Otherwise its impossible…

  5. Salam! I’m a teenage hijabi about to do some trousers shopping cuz its hard for me to find stuff my size (I’m tall). Do you think that the first pair of jeans you posted are okay for wearing with a long loose tunic? Thanks!

    • Salam sis,

      I have bought trousers and skirts from shukr. I am 5’6 1/2 and i actually own the first pair of jeans. they are SUPER long, way too long i need to take at least 2inchs off before i can wear them. They actually go under my feet. Even when i pull them up as high as i can they still too long. The same with skirts, i end up wearing them really high on the waist because they are soooo long.
      Hope that helps

      also, i wear mine with a long knee length dress or a long over coat.

  6. Mashallah it’s nice to see a teen hijabi posting on here! I think those jeans would look lovely with a long tunic. Do you have one already in mind or are you shopping for a new one inshallah?

    • Thank you for your reply! I already have my tunics, I’m just thinking of buying new jeans to replace my old ones.

  7. wa ‘alaikum assalaam,

    I apologize if I made anyone feel uncomfortable. However, one should also understand that this is the internet….where anyone and everyone is able to read and comment, not sure how that’s practical to only feel “safe” that only women are reading, quite naive. I will no longer comment on here though since it’s really not that deep Alhamdulillah.

    Nonetheless, I follow the blog for clothes for my wife…no other reason.

    JazakAllahukhair

  8. Subhanallah sis,

    I have the shukr jeans at the top, had them for 2 years but they are super long on me…i need ot tkae them up and then i can wear them under my jilbabas and abayas. i have an abaya that is about 10cm above the ankle and they would look great with them.
    I agree trousers are fine to wear especially at home with the family, but when you go out if you choose to wear them then you must make sure wide, extremly wide and not fitted at all. that is hard as most women have curves hips and thighs and jeans hug those areas closely. so if you choose to wear trousers at least wear a long tunic that is baggy and opaque ontop to cover the hips ant thighs to the knees. i used to do that, before i got into hijab properly.
    But i am of the opinion that trousers are okay under your outergarment as mentioned in the quran that women should put on outer garment when leaving their home. khimar, abaya, jilbaba etc.

Comments are closed.