Just some random thoughts…

Bismillah ar-rahman ar-raheem

You know, I wish anytime a website or blog would reference my blog that they would let me know.  I sometimes check my blog stats and can tell when a website, newspaper or blog has referenced a post that I wrote because…1…I get a TON of hits from 1 particular source and 2, a ton of hits on one particular blog post! Its pretty simple to figure out…yet, I’m never told. LOL

Anyway, apparently a Reporter for the Washington Post did an article over the summer referencing “Islamic dress” in Iran and towards the end of the article…you will see, a blog post which I did on the subject is referenced… The struggle over what to wear in Iran.
Like most things, I reckon people who are not “in the know” make more of a deal out of things than should be made out of them. Just my 2 cents worth…

 

3 thoughts on “Just some random thoughts…

  1. they 3 ladies at the top look kinda sporty, maybe theyre going for a run or something. if im having to be active i prefer to wear a hat instead of a scarf to cover my head.

  2. I don’t see anything wrong wearing a hat or other brim with the hijab if you can pull it off, sometimes having a brim is really helpful in the sun. Regarding the sisters who wear the scarves/hats in an attempt to blend in or be less “scary” to Americans… I have heard comments from sisters who do modify their dress for this reason. Personally, I don’t, but I am very reluctant to condemn those who do (even if I don’t have any reason to think it will have the desired effect… let’s face it, to most non-muslims a scarf with a hat and tunic is just as unusual). I have’t seen a large difference in people’s reactions when I wear a black abaya vs. when I wear a long colorful tunic and jeans, I think it has more to do with what area you are in and the people who live there. So I think a lot of this may have to do with the background of the sisters involved.

    Alhamdulillah I have never been physically attacked for wearing hijab, but I do personally know sisters who have been targeted and physically assaulted and faced huge discrimination, which left them scared about standing out. In some areas I have had people yelling hijab-related insults at me as I walk down the street. In others people are very courteous. If there is a sister who modifies her garment out of fear I can’t say anything negative about that, she is making an effort, and the kind of dress people are comfortable wearing changes over time as well.

    I’ll also note that when I first converted, I was in school myself and had almost no money, so revamping my entire wardrobe at one go was not an option, it had to happen gradually with a mix of new things and clothes I already had, which sometimes resulted in some “unusual” looks to say the least😀

  3. Personally I think the hat/brim etc over a hijab looks odd to me and I wouldn’t do it but to each their own. I tend to get hot very easily so it would probably be better without the hat anyway. I also know people who modified their dress after coming to the US but like someone already said it really depends on where you live as to whether or not this modification will make a difference.

Comments are closed.