A week in skirts…

OLD SCHOOL HIJABI HAS MOVED TO ITS OWN DOMAIN! THIS BLOG WILL NO LONGER BE UPDATED AT THIS ADDRESS…TO SEE THE NEW BLOG AND TO INTERACT WITH OLD SCHOOL HIJABI, GO TO WWW.OLDSCHOOLHIJABI.COM

Bismillah ar-Rahman ar-Raheem

OK, do you all remember the post I had about my thinking about skirts but mentioned my qualms with them and why I don’t really wear them…mainly not too comfy around the waist area and feeling the need to always wear pants under them…for comfort and modesty.

Well, I think I found a solution. Yes the “snip-to-fit” pant slip came…they actually came on Saturday…and yes they are very nice, are what i was looking for and do fit…but, being that they are nylon and its now late fall…oh dear, they just aren’t warm enough!  I think I will keep them more for spring/summer as they would be ideal then.

So, yes, anyway…this what Ive been doing. I found some very thick, black stirrup leggings in this really warm, fuzzy, feels like polar-fleece but they arent-type of material from Burlington Coat Factory. They are elastic waist and when I put them on…they miraculously stay put. No sliding or moving.  Thats one thing which I always hated about tights and hose and probably what put me off of skirts to begin with. being that they are  leggings, they arent baggy and sofar arent catching on the skirts Ive been wearing.  Oh and…they ARE warm!!!

Thanks for Hurricane Sandy we’ve had 5 days-YES 5 DAYS of freezing cold weather, rain…rain…rain and ice!!!  Its been a huge mess outside yet I wore a skirt the entire time and not once did my hem get wet (ok, not THAT wet) and not once did I feel cold…those leggings kept me sooo warm.

The skirts Ive worn are those very baggy, elastic waisted skirts which come with the French 2-piece jelbab sets. For the times that I’ve had to walk in rain I roll the waist a bit so the skirt hits around my ankles and miraculously, I stay quite dry. I also didnt have any problems with the skirts flying up as peachskin and koshibo microfiber are slightly heavier weight fabrics with some weight and due to the leggings being stirrup style I didnt worry that the pants would slide up and expose my ankles…wooohooo

A grey microfiber koshibo skirt from al-Moultazimoun.

Anyway, nothing much more than that…I just wanted to share that I actually wore a skirt for almost a week now and really haven’t felt uncomfortable or held back.  I know I’ll go back to my jeans and sweats soon enough…but I probably wont be so hesitant to wear skirts more often.

**I nipped into the masjid after class for salaat…can you tell I have a sweater on under my jilbab? LOOL.  I was able to fit the batwing jelbab under my jacket quite easily, I just pulled up the cuffs alittle to elbow length and I was able to slide my arms into my jacket.  In a grey Al-Moultazimoun 2 piece jelbab set (btw I still have 4 left of these for sale in L/XL!, they are up on the storenvy site)

 

One thought on “A week in skirts…

  1. I’m glad that you had a better experience with your skirts lately sis! I never thought of wearing stirrups underneath my jelbabs. I think it would be more comfortable than the jersey/knit pants that I usually wear. I have a Burlington right down the street from my house. Inshaallah next time I go, I’ll have to remember to check that out.

Comments are closed.