Review: StyleJ denim skirt- charcoal swishing…

OLD SCHOOL HIJABI HAS MOVED TO ITS OWN DOMAIN! THIS BLOG WILL NO LONGER BE UPDATED AT THIS ADDRESS…TO SEE THE NEW BLOG AND TO INTERACT WITH OLD SCHOOL HIJABI, GO TO WWW.OLDSCHOOLHIJABI.COM

Bismillah ar-Rahman ar-Raheem.

I’m trying to wear more skirts now that I think I’ve figured out ways to make them more comfortable for me…like trying to wear ones with an elastic waist and a lot of room for walking and comfort or if a regular waistband that they fit nicely and provide enough room for comfort as well. Unfortunately although i bough a LOT of rather funky long skirts when I was in Saudi for a year a few years ago, the majority are in storage and remain in storage as they are all cut narrow in the waist and hips. They fit…don’t get me wrong, obviously they fit, but they are NOT comfortable, they pinch and bind where they shouldnt…particularly if I wear them over leggings or lightweight pants as I like to do.

Hence enter in StyleJ. So there are NOW more long-skirt oiptions out there on the US market. I remember before going to Saudi I really felt like I lucked out if I found a florr length, slitless skirt at Rainbow or Burlington…I hardly ever found them anywhere else and even online, they were difficult to find. But now, it seems like a lot more shops catering to women who wear modest clothing (of whatever religion) and want long, slitless skirts which have some style about them. Ive known about them for awhile but never felt cvompelled to buy from them before. I was like, I got a box of skirts I never wear anyway…so, why…?  But, since those ones arent very comfortable…I wanted to try them, also they are known to have good quality skirts so I was like…why not.

I got this one…

Charcoal Long Denim Skirt.

and on me…yup, I can’t do the “pose” and nor do I own heels. LOL

 

Why charcoal? why denim…? I dunno, but I figured charcoal with go with most items I actually wear and denim…hey why not.

Ah, I absolutely think its awesome.
The fabric is a cotton denim with a touch of stretch spandex so it has some GIVE. I am not a pan of 100% cotton denim (unless they are VERY lightweight) as I just find them to be too stiff and to uncomfortable for me to wear. I know some will ONLY wear 100% natural fabrics, but by now, I’m sure you all know…I dont care either way. I think synthetics do have their perks (downsides too, yes, but lotsa perks as well) and again, to each their own. I find I need the touch of stretch for comfort. Others may not feel that way.  The cut is very A-line and I can achieve a normal walking stride without feeling like I’m being hobbled or held back…which is important to me. I wanna be able to RUN in a skirt if I have too-you know, dodging cars while crossing streets and soforth. LOL

It ahs typical denim skirt styling. Its actually a bit darker in real life and the fabric is quite substantial and high quality.

The skirt comes all nicely wrapped up with paper on the StyleJ embossed button (nice touch!) and the hem is frayed-although its meant to be like that. Gives its a casual air.
Now as far as sizing goes…its 40inches long. Now I’m 5ft4. It drags on the ground BUT I WANT it to drag on the ground, it doesn’t like trail after me, but it does touch the ground…and anyone who knows me, knows I prefer my stuff to hit the ground. Nothing I loath more than an ankle length skirt. To me, I think it looks dorky. LOL (unless its raining or snowing-then, nothing is dorky!) For sizing…I got my usual skirt sizing and I actually think they are quite extensive with explaining the sizing or each skirt and everything, like some skirts are more slim fit, whereas others are roomier. Thats a nice touch, I appreciate that as I do take that into consideration! Now, the skirt is a bit looser around the waist than what I would generally choose, but I knew this would be the case as I fall between 2 sizes and I knew with the stretch there would be some give, but again, i’m OK with that as I can comfortably wear this skirt over leggings or pants slips or whatever without a binding-feeling. Plus, its easy as pie to stitch the sides in 1/3rd of an inch if I really find it necessary, so the perks of a looser fit, are to me, worth it. If I wasnt so particular I’d have sized down one size.

Otherwise, excellent…definetly a quality skirt, made to last. Not the cheapest thing ever…esp. as I found several places online and in real life selling similar skirts for a lot cheaper…but I wanted something quality so I figured this one may be a better deal, overall. Oh and the shipping was INCREDIBLY fast…like Shukr USA fast! Like 2 days and voila!!! I was in awe.

I did wear it out this evening for a walk with the kidlet about 3/4th of a mile to some little shops to buy a few household items and I was able to layer a thin pair of leggings under it and walk normally…I felt very comfortable. I didnt feel binded or like I would trip or…weird. Just, comfortable and normal. mash’Allah.

have any of you ordered from StyleJ…if so, what did you think of their skirts…?

4 thoughts on “Review: StyleJ denim skirt- charcoal swishing…

  1. I’ve never bought from them although I’ve browsed their websites plenty of times but not for a while. The skirt looks really cute. I’ve been wanting a nice denim skirt to wear under my abayas when going out and being on the taller side online stores have better options for me.

Comments are closed.