بِسْمِ ٱللَّٰهِ ٱلرَّحْمَٰنِ ٱلرَّحِيمِ,

Hi friends, Salaam!

Recently I had the chance to try out another popular brand of overhead Jilbab from France called Jilbab Al-Atlas.

As mentioned in prior posts, some of the other Jilbab brands coming out of France are El Bassira, Al Manassik and Al Moultazimoun.  Al Moultazimoun is its own brand and is sold in its own store online where as El Bassira, Al Atlas and Al Manassik are sold in various little boutiques and online shops based out of Europe (usually France).

Anyway, this review is about another Jilbab brand called Jilbab Al Atlas, also based out of France. While all of these Jilbab brands are quite similar there are some differences that I have noticed and which I would like to touch on below.

(Update June 2023…It appears that Jilbab Al Atlas is no longer a brand that is actively manufactured at this time, there is “dead stock” noted on several French Islamic clothing websites but the actual brand itself no longer appears to be actively manufactured, regardless I am keeping this blog post up as it does contain useful information.)

The Jilbab I purchased and am reviewing is from a French Islamic clothing company online; Akhawat.fr which is based out of Tolouse and which carries both Al Atlas and El Bassira brand Jilbabs. This one is called a papillion or buttefly cut and it comes with a matching A-line skirt which is quite comfortable.  So, incase you don’t know, the papillion cut of Jilbab uses the full width of the fabric and elastic cuffs which provides a flowier cut to the Jilbab.

The color I purchased is called saumon or salmon which more like a deep rose tone rather than an orangish salmon tone.

 

DSC_4231
(Italian Koshiibo microfiber Butterfly cut Jilbab from the French Al Atlas brand)

 

So, what are the discernible differences with this brand compared to other Jilbab brands out of France?

For this brand; Al Atlas the biggest difference compared to other French Jilbab brands is that the elastic at the wrists is more narrow and thin which personally, I do prefer as it is easier to push the sleeves up for wearing under a coat or a jacket, whereas other brands  tend to use very thick elastic at the wrists which can feel more binding when pushed up and worn under a coat or jacket. Additionally, the Al Atlas brand has a wide array of colors to choose from, although in my experience the French Jilbab producer Al Manassik has the largest assortment of colors for ones Jilbab available. Something like  26 or 28 shades at last count, but Al Atlas is quite close.  Personally I love color options…mash’Allah.

DSC_4233

Regarding fabrics used; Al Atlas brand  Jilbabs comes in two types of fabric.

  • Peachskin
  • Microfiber (koshibo) & their Luxe version called Italian Microfiber (Microfiber d’Italie)

I am in love with the Koshibo microfiber Al Atlas uses, its incredibly luscious, lightweight, airy with a great drape and Ive not had issues with static or wrinkles. It does have a minor gloss/sheen that all  is a signature feature of all microfiber koshibo material (as seen in my pictures).  The Peachskin that Al Atlas uses is in my estimation “ok” not not spectacular, I find it rather thick and stiff to wear and consider it more suitable to winter wear, whereas the microfiber Koshibo material is suitable for year around wear. I also like how their microfiber koshibo material does not make a scratchy sound around my ears during wear.

Shipping; I placed my order online and Akhawat does do EMS International shipping and regular postal shipping. I did the regular postal shipping (its cheaper!) and my new Jilbab set came in around 2 weeks (I live in the USA). Akhawat is careful with shipping abroad and if you have any questions they will gladly answer them…oh and they know English which is a perk for us who are not Francophones.

 

DSC_4234

Please note I was not paid for this review, If you found this review helpful please let me know and consider supporting this blog to grow and thrive! JazakhAllahKhairoon, Thank you!

8 responses to “OSH Reviews Jelbab Al-Atlas (updated 6/2023)”

  1. ummashraf Avatar
    ummashraf

    Mashallah, I love this color. However I’m wondering how it will stand up to the snow? Like will it show water stains?? Can you also share if it has elastic or ties to secure it to your head and whether the sleeves are able to be slid up far enough for wudu?

    1. Umm Ibrahim Avatar
      Umm Ibrahim

      wa alaikum as salaam…well one nice thing about the koshibo microfibers is they wash very very well. Honestly if any of them get stains from food or dirt I just drizzle some white vinegar on the stains/marks and let it sit 15min and then launder as par normal..or use spray remover. Everything comes right out. Ive never had problems…not even with greasy stuff! Mash’Allah… Also we havent had snow here at all, which is VERY weird this late in the season…but I reckon…it would be the same as an abaya…just wash and go. Also, yes sis, the sleeves hcan be pushed right up to your armpits! LOL Like when Im going out I put on a long sleeved shirt under, the jelbab and then if I need a coat or whatever push them up to my upper biceps and slip my arms in the coat, it looks a bit less bulky than the overhead jelbabs which have more of a sleeve, those then to make the upper arms of the coat/jacket look as squooshy/bumpy and lumpy. Does this help? en’sha’Allah…

      1. Umm Ibrahim Avatar
        Umm Ibrahim

        Oh and dof, as far as water stains…hmm, regular water…no, it dries, but lets say its like dirty water…and it dries, yes its a bit visible…but they wash right out in the laundry. This is a problem with most lighter colored fabrics Ive found…basically anything unless its black, navy or a dark brown will show some water marks if dirty water or liquids get on them. But water, water…like from wuduh or rain…I havent found that to be a problem and we did have rain today and I had this exact one one.

      2. ummashraf Avatar
        ummashraf

        Great! I’m seriously loving these and like the ability to push the sleeves up because you’re right it does get a bit tight when wearing a coat if you can’t push them up. I have that problem with the one I bought. I’ll probably have to start wearing my poncho with it instead.

  2. kakchik Avatar

    Subhanallah… you look very elegant wearing it Umm Ibrahim. A few friends of mine are so interested in this jelbab and keep asking me to import them from Al Moultazimoun but I’m still not ready to do it. I also like this style.

    1. Umm Ibrahim Avatar
      Umm Ibrahim

      Jazak’Allah’Khair! Don’t forget to say Mash’Allah :-)…actually sis, you can email me and I can give you some ideas of where to get them from…gthe major problem is supplier…cuz most of the manufacturers speak French and very little English so its difficult dealing with them. But, perhaps in the future. My email is listed above under one of the page links…if you want. 🙂

  3. jundub1404 Avatar

    Mashallah sis looking gawjus!! I was wondering if the photos show the material to be really shiny because of the camera you used or thats what it would be like in normal daylight? Jazkallah khair for sharing these reviews i seriously LOVE your blog.

    1. Umm Ibrahim Avatar
      Umm Ibrahim

      asalaamu alaikum…aww, thanks…its very comfy, mash’Allah. Sis both Peachskin and Koshibo microfiber have a slight sheen in the fabric, I’m sure youve seen peachskin fabric…its like that. Its not satin or shiny perse, but just has a slight gloss or sheen to it. I prefer this fabric over the matte as I think it looks nicer and its very lightweight and airy on the head…

Welcome!

﷽ 

I’m Bailey Umm Ibrahim

Im an American Muslim, an RN, a mom of two and a long time Hijabi.

Welcome to my little space on the Internet! Feel free subscribe to OldSchoolHijabi below!

…lastly, pardon the dust! im trying to get back into blogging after a hiatus of about 10 years!

Subscribe to OSH and never miss a new post!

Let’s connect